Valenti Modified Racing Series Qualifying Cancelled At Thompson Speedway

THOMPSON – With a brief round of showers throwing a slight delay in the schedule at Thompson International Speedway, series official decided to scrap qualifying heat races today.

The starting lineup for the feature has now been set by owner’s points. That puts Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, Pa. on the pole for today’s 75-lap event at the track.

Pennink won in the Valenti Modified Racing Series’ first visit to Thompson International Speedway this year on May 20.

Seven-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Mike Stefanik was fastest overall after two practice sessions this afternoon for the VMRS. Stefanik will start 33rd in the 34-car field.

Dave Schneider was second fastest. Tommy Barrett Jr. of Millis, Mass., returning to action after a two-race suspension, was third fastest in practice.

Ted Christopher of Plainville, driving for car owner Joe Brady, was fourth fastest in practice. Tim Jordan of Plainfield, returning to the series after skipping the last two events, was fifth fastest.

Jon McKennedy of Chelmsford, Mass, will start second and Norm Wrenn of Nashua, N.H. third.

Starting Lineup

1. Rowan Pennink, Huntindon Valley, Pa.
2. Jon McKennedy, Chelmsford, Mass.
3. Norm Wrenn, Nashua, N.H.
4. Mike Holdridge, Madison
5. Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon
6. Lou Mechalides, Tyngsboro, Mass.
7. Mark Bakaj, Lebanon
8. Max Zachem, Preston
9. Joe Doucette, Framingham, Mass.
10. Todd Owen, Somers
11. Rob Goodenough, Swanzey, N.H.
12. Jeff Malave, Manchester
13. Dave Schneider, Northport, N.Y.
14. Matt Mead, Richmond, N.H.
15. Tommy Barrett Jr., Millis, Mass.
16. Larry Barnett, Moosup
17. Anthony Nocella, Woburn, Mass.
18. Les Hinckley, Windsor Locks
19. Timmy Jordan, Plainfield
20. Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H.
21. Geoff Gernhard, Salem
22. Doug Coby, Milford
23. Todd Szegedy, Ridgfield
24. Dave Etheridge, Portland
25. Roy Seidell, Easthampton, Mass.
26. Richard Savary, Canton, Mass.
27. Leo Oliviera, Blackstone, Mass.
28. Dennis Charette, Southington
29. Steve Masse, Bellingham, Mass.
30. Ted Christopher, Plainville
31. Rich Ferreira, Blackstone, Mass.
32. Steve Reed, Freehold, N.J.
33. Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I.
34. George Sherman, N/A

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing