Thompson Notes: Derek Ramstrom Hangs On To Super Late Model Title Despite Spin

THOMPSON – Derek Ramstrom recovered from a spin late to rally to third place in the 50-lap Super Late Model feature, capturing his second championship in the division.

Larry Gelinas of Buxton, Me. won and Jim Banfield of Glastonbury was second.

Ramstrom, of West Boylston, Mass. was embroiled in a long battle for the lead with Mike O’Sullivan. On lap 39 Ramstrom spin after contact between the two. O’Sullivan was penalized for the contact.

Ramstrom, who also won the championship in the division in 2010, edged Banfield by six points at the top of the standings this year.

Jesse Gleason came up short in his chase for a championship, but he did all he could to do in the last points race of the season.

Gleason, of Lisbon, won the 25-lap Limited Sportsman feature, though he fell short of knocking Scott Sundeen from the top of the standings.

Sundeen, of Douglas, Mass., finished fifth and clinched the track title and also likely clinched the NASCAR Short Track Div. III national title.

For the second consecutive event it was Damon Tinio winning in the 25-lap Late Model feature.

Jay Sundeen of Douglas, Mass. won the 20-lap Thompson Modified feature.

Cam McDermott won the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature. Dylan Kopec of Palmer, Mass. was second and John Studley of Framingham, Mass. third.

Joe Baxter of Pascoag, R.I. won the 15-lap Mini Stock feature.

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing