Thompson Notes: Ryan Preece Continues SK Mod Reign; Damon Tinio Gets First Late Model Win

THOMPSON – A week ago Ryan Preece clinched the SK Modified division championship at Thompson International Speedway.

Sunday the Berlin driver continued to emphasize to his competition that he isn’t letting up.

Preece took the lead from Kerry Malone early and never let up on the way to victory in the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified feature Sunday at Thompson International Speedway.

It was the 10th win in 18 events this year at Thompson for Preece and his seventh victory in the last 10 races.

“Thank god there wasn’t caution with 10 [laps] to go,” Preece said. “Something broke in the power steering I was just holding on.”

Woody Pitkat of Stafford was second and Keith Rocco of Wallingford third.

For four years Damon Tinio has been waiting to get a good look at victory lane at Thompson International Speedway.

Sunday he finally got to make a visit.

Tinion won the 25-lap Late Model feature. It was the first career feature win in the division for the Mendon, Mass. driver.

“It was getting old,” Tinio said. “Four years we never won. But it’s here now.”

Mike Scorzelli of Malta, Mass. was second on the track but was later disqualified for an illegal gear box, moving Glenn Boss of Danielson to second and Mike O’Sullivan of Springfield, Mass. to third.

O’Sullivan clinched the division’s 2012 championship.

Scott Sundeen of Douglas, Mass. won the 20-lap Limited Sportsman feature. Jason Chicolas of Sutton was second and Larry Barnett of Moosup third.

Eric Bourgeois of East Haddam won the 15-lap Mini Stock feature. Chad Baxter of Pascoag, R.I. was scond and Joe Baxter of Pascoag, R.I. third.

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing