Joey Polewarczyk Jr. Wins TD Bank Oxford 250; Dillon Moltz Finishes 30th In First Appearance

It was a domination of youth at one of the biggest short track racing events in the country on Sunday.

Joey Polewarczyk Jr. celebrates his Oxford 250 victory Sunday (Photo: Travis Barrett/GWC Motorsports)

Twenty-three year old Joey Polewaryczyk Jr. of Hudson, N.H. stayed out front for the majority of the event and won his first TD Bank Oxford 250 in the 39th running of the prestigious race at Oxford Plains Speedway in Oxford, Me.

Jeff Taylor of Farmington, Me. was second and 18-year old Austin Theriault of Fort Kent, Me. third.

Polewarczyk joins a prestigious list of Oxford 250 winners that includes Geoffrey Bodine, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Ricky Craven, Dave Dion and Eddie MacDonald.

Polewarczyk earned $45,500 in between the winner’s purse and lap leader bonus money.

Theriault made a furious late charge through the top-10 in the closing stages but didn’t have enough time to make a run at Polewarczyk.

Dillon Moltz, the Late Model division points leader at the Waterford Speedbowl, made his first appearance in the Oxford 250, finishing 30th of the 39 cars in the show.

The biggest victory for Moltz on the day came when he made locked up a starting position through his qualifying heat, often a rare occurrence for a first timer at the event. But Moltz, of Waterford, beat out 2011 Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne in the fifth of six heats on the day to earn the 23rd starting spot in the field.

Seventy-three cars attempted to make the show. Moltz was at Oxford driving a car owned by Mark Cooper.

Bayne ended up 31st in the event.

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing