Waterford Speedbowl Regular Dillon Moltz Qualifies For TD Bank Oxford 250

The Waterford Speedbowl will be represented when the starting field takes the green in one of the most prestigious short track racing events in the country tonight in Oxford, Me.

Dillon Moltz

Speedbowl Late Model division points leader Dillon Moltz qualified for his first TD Bank Oxford 250 Sunday at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Moltz finished fourth in the fifth of six heat races for the event, picking up the last transfer spot of the heat race.

“I have goosebumps right now,” Moltz said by phone after his heat race.

Moltz will start 23rd in a field expected to be about 40 cars tonight at Oxford Plains.

Thirty-eight cars earn spots in the field through qualifying events. Other starting spots can be granted through provisional decisions.

Moltz was one 73 drivers at Oxford Plains Speedway looking to secure a starting spot in the main event.

Moltz started seventh in the fifth heat of six heat races, behind two time Oxford 250 winner Eddie MacDonald and 2011 Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne.

“We were out there with some tough guys,” Moltz said. “Just getting through the first heat and making it into the race is a win itself, not having to go back through a consolation race or a last chance event.”

Moltz was running fifth late in the heat before fourth place T.J. Watson spun giving him the chance to grab the final qualifying position.

McDonald, of Rowley, Mass. won the heat race, followed in second by Thompson International Speedway Super Late Model division regular Larry Gelinas of Buxton, Me. D.J. Shaw of Center Conway, N.H. was third in the heat in front of Moltz.

“It was pretty neat to be out there battling like that for that spot,” Moltz said. “It’s just great to be in this race. I can’t wait.”

Moltz, in his first season competing full-time at the Waterford Speedbowl for car owner Mark Cooper, has four wins in 11 starts this year. Before this season Moltz had competed regularly in the Late Model division at Stafford Motor Speedway.

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing