Matt Hirschman Scores The Big Money At Seekonk Speedway Open Modified Event

Matt Hirschman has 10,000 more reasons to love racing at Seekonk Speedway.

Hirschman, of Northampton, Pa., took the lead from Ryan Preece with less than two laps remaining and held off Preece at the line to win the 100-lap Modified Madness feature Wednesday Seekonk (Mass.) Speedway.

The victory paid a winner’s purse of $10,000.

Preece, of Berlin, was second and Steve Masse of Bellingham, Mass. third.

Preece took over the lead at about the halfway point of the event. Hirschman went by Todd Annarummo for second on lap 89 and briefly took over the lead from Preece on lap 93, but Preece retook the top spot on lap 94.

Preece held off Hirschman on a lap 96 restart. But it was following a lap 98 restart that Hirschman was able to wrestle the lead away.

Hirschman became the first repeat winner of the event since it’s inception in 2005. Hirschman also won the race in 2008.

Annarummo ended up fourth. Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, the 2009 winner of the event was fifth. Eric Berndt of Cromwell was seven and Doug Coby of Milford, the 2011 winner of the race, was ninth.

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing