New England Auto Racing Hall Of Fame Adds 20 Pioneer Inductees Sunday At Thompson

Twenty New England racing pioneers were inducted into the New England Auto Racing Hall of Fame in a ceremony Sunday at Thompson International Speedway.

The group was chosen after a lengthy voting process overseen by a committee of New England’s top racing historians.

The induction group included stock car drivers Tony Mordino, Sparky Belmont, Hank Stevens, Ed Patnode, Johnny Georgiades, Wally Silva and Ray Brown.

Also inducted were Midget drivers Eddie Casterline, George Rice, Al Pillion, Billy Tibbert, Frank Simonetti, Charlie Ethier, and George Monson.

The induction group also included car owners Anthony “Beebe” Zalenski, Ed Stone, Wen Kelley, Bob Oliver and Gordon Ross and owner & promoter of the former Plainville Stadium, Joe Tinty.

—- Follow RaceDayCT at Facebook
—- Follow RaceDayCT on Twitter


  1. It should be noted that stock car drivers , Hank Stevens & Ray Brown were both very well known as very sucessful midget drivers.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing