On Tap: A Little Something For Everybody On The Local Racing Scene

It’s three days of special events around the Connecticut short track racing scene beginning Thursday.

Speed Limit Sign 80The festivities kick off Thursday night with championship night at Thompson International Speedway, where divisional titles will be decided for five drivers.

Stafford Motor Speedway hosts the Valenti Modified Racing Series for the second time in 2013 on Friday.

On Saturday the 150-lap SK Modified Budweiser Nationals takes center stage on the track’s annual Thunder on the Sound card.

Where: Thompson International Speedway
What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series event and Northeast Mini Stock Tour
When: Thursday
Schedule: 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 40-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Sportsman, 15-lap Mini Stock and 20-lap Northeast Mini Stock Tour. Grandstands open: 4 p.m.; Qualifying begins: 6 p.m.; Features begin 7:15 p.m. (approximately)
More: The eighth and final week of Thursday night racing at Thompson in 2013. Thompson returns to action with racing following Thursday with the running of the season ending World Series of Speedway Racing at the track Oct. 18-20. Divisional championships for the 2013 season will all be decided on Thursday. … Last week, Keith Rocco won for the fifth time in nine events in the SK Modified division. Other winners in the division this year include, Ryan Preece, Matt Gallo, Woody Pitkat and Kerry Malone. … Rocco goes into the championship deciding event Thursday holding a 2-point lead over Woody Pitkat and Kerry Malone, who are tied for second. … The Late Model division has a 40-lap feature Thursday, 15 laps more than usual. Glenn Boss goes into the event four points ahead of Rick Gentes in the chase for the division championship. John Lowinski-Loh Jr. is 10 points behind Boss in third. … Cam McDermott takes a nearly insurmountable 24-point lead into the standings into Thursday’s SK Light Modified feature. McDermott is looking for his second consecutive SK Light title. … Steve Kenneway has a 12-point lead over Jason Chicolas in the standings going into their 20-lap Limited Sportsman feature Thursday. … Eric Bourgeois leads Chad Baxter by six points in th standings going into the 15-lap Mini Stock feature. … The Northeast Mini Stock Tour makes it’s only 2013 trip to Thompson on Thursday. It’s the third of three state events for the division this season. They competed at Stafford Motor Speedway on April 27 and at the Waterford Speedbowl on June 1.

Where: Stafford Motor Speedway
What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series event and Valenti Modified Racing Series
When: Friday
Schedule: 80-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Late Model and 15-lap DARE Stock. Grandstands open: 4:15 p.m.; Qualifying begins: 6:15 p.m. Features begin: Approximately 7:30 p.m.
More: The 14th week of Friday night racing at Stafford in 2013. … The Valenti Modified Racing Series makes the second of their scheduled three visits to Stafford Motor Speedway on Friday. Former Stafford Motor Speedway regular Tommy Barrett Jr. won in the division’s first visit to Stafford this year on June 21. … Stafford Motor Speedway SK Modified division regular Rowan Pennink holds the Valenti Modified Racing Series points lead. With five events remaining, Barrett is 70 points behind Pennink in the standings in second place. Lou Mechalides is third, 78 points behind Pennink. Pennink, Barrett and Steve Masses are the only multi-time winners over 12 events this year. Each has two victories. Other winners this season include Mechalides, Dwight Jarvis, Keith Rocco, Todd Annarummo, Richard Savary and Todd Patnode. … Friday marks the seventh event ever at Stafford for the Valenti Modified Racing Series. Barrett, who also won in one of the division’s visits to Stafford in 2012, became the first multi-time division winner at the track in June. Other former Valenti Modified Racing Series winners at the track include Rocco, Ted Christopher, Chris Pasteryak and Jon McKennedy. … In the last event at the track, Ryan Preece won for the eighth time in 14 events this year in the track’s SK Modified division. … Preece holds a 36-point lead over second place Woody Pitkat in the division’s standings. Doug Coby is third, 58 points out of the lead. Pitkat and Coby are both winless in the division this year. … Preece and Christopher, are the only multi-time SK Modified winners this year at Stafford. Christopher has two wins. Other SK Modified division winners this season include Eric Berndt, Danny Cates, Rowan Pennink and Keith Rocco. … Tom Fearn won for the fourth time in the Late Model division last week at Stafford. Division points leader Adam Gray takes a streak of 13 consecutive podium finishes into Friday’s 30-lap Late Model feature. Gray has five wins this year and his only finish outside of the top three in 2013 was an 18th place in the first event of the year. … Gray holds a 70-point lead over Fearn in the division standings.

Where: Waterford Speedbowl
What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Thunder On The Sound event
When: Saturday
Schedule: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap Street Stock, 25-lap Mini Stock, 25-lap SK Light Modified 20-lap Legends and 20-lap Bandaleros. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 4:30 p.m.; Features: 6:30 p.m.
More: The 19th event of the season at the shoreline oval. … Saturday’s event card features the premier SK Modified event of the season at Waterford, the 150-lap Budweiser Modified Nationals. … In the last event at the track, Tyler Chadwick scored his fourth victory of the season in the SK Modified division. Keith Rocco, with seven SK Modified division victories this year at Waterford, holds a 62-point lead in the division’s standings over second place Todd Ceravolo. Chadwick, the 2012 division champion, is a distant third, 103 points behind Rocco. … Rocco, Chadwick and Kyle James are the only multi-time winners this year in the SK Modified division. James has two wins. Other winners include Ceravolo, Diego Monahan Jeff Rocco, Joey Gada and Rob Janovic Jr. … Keith Rocco won the 50-lap Late Model event at Waterford last week, his seventh Late Model victory this year the track. He has a 90-point lead over Jason Palmer in the Late Model division standings.

—- Follow RaceDayCT at Facebook
—- Follow RaceDayCT on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing