Todd Annarummo Tops Valenti Modified Racing Series At Seekonk; Tommy Barrett Jr. Back To Points Lead

The home track advantage is paying dividends of late on the Valenti Modified Racing Series.

Seekonk Speedway LogoOn Aug. 10 it was Waterford Speedbowl regular Keith Rocco scoring victory in the division’s visit to the shoreline oval.

Saturday it was Todd Annarummo stoking the home fires with a win.

At his home track Seekonk Speedway in Seekonk, Mass. it was Annarummo, of Swansea, Mass. winning the 100-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series event.

It was the first victory of the season for Annarummo, who was making his fourth start in 10 series events this year. It was his second career series victory. His first came on Aug. 21, 2010 at Seekonk.

Annarummo was the seventh different winner in 10 events this year in the series.

Steve Masse of Bellingham, Mass. was second and Richard Savary of Canton, Mass. third. Annarummo went by Savary for the lead on lap 32 and never trailed again.

With seven races remaining in the topsy-turvy chase for the championship, Tommy Barrett Jr. used a fourth place finish to move past Rowan Pennink at the top of the series standings.

Pennink, of Huntingdon, Valley, Pa., came into the event four points ahead of Barrett. Each earned five points by winning their respective qualifying heat events at Seekonk.

Barrett, of Millis, Mass. finished fourth, putting him two points ahead of Pennink, who finished seventh.

Pennink and Barrett each have two victories this season. Masse also has a pair of wins. Other winners this year include Dwight Jarvis and Lou Mechalides.

The Valenti Modified Racing Series returns to action Thursday at Thompson International Speedway in an effort to run a feature originally scheduled for July 25 that has been rained out three times.

—- Follow RaceDayCT at Facebook
—- Follow RaceDayCT on Twitter


  1. Shawn: Did the series adjust their heat race line-up procedure this week? If I remember correctly, the top three in points — Barrett, Pennink and Savary — all won their heat races last night. And they all started at or very near the front of their heats.

  2. Random draw for heat race starting spots.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing