Five Time: Ken Cassidy Grabs Another Mini Stock Championship In Style With Win At Waterford

WATERFORD – Saturday night, Ken Cassidy Jr. made sure Finale Weekend at the Waterford Speedbowl would prove to be stress free.

Ken Cassidy Mini Stock at Waterford Speedbowl

Ken Cassidy

With an event still remaining, Cassidy clinched his fifth Mini Stock division championship Saturday and did it in perfect fashion.

Cassidy won the 25-lap Mini Stock feature Saturday at Waterford.

“When you can seal a championship up with a win there’s nothing better than that,” Cassidy said.

It was the third consecutive victory for Cassidy and his eighth victory of the season. Cassidy, who is the division’s all-time winningest driver with 51 wins, became the first driver to record five Mini Stock division titles at Waterford.

He joined Bob Potter, Dennis Gada, Phil Rondeau, Don Collins and Moose Hewitt as the only drivers with five or more titles at the track in a single division.

“To be up there with the guys, I was looking at the record books the other day and look at all the names up there, and now I’m part of that,” Cassidy said. “That’s awesome. I used to come here as a little kid and watch those guys and I used to dream about winning a race. Now we’ve got over 50 wins and five championships. It’s just amazing.”

Garrett Denton of Hope Valley, R.I. was second and Bill Leonard of Charlestown, R.I. third. Cassidy goes into the final event of the season with a 59 point lead over second place Denton in the standings. The most points a driver can earn in one event is 55.

—- Follow RaceDayCT at Facebook
—- Follow RaceDayCT on Twitter


  1. Record Breaking!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing