Recognized Motorsports Journalist Bob Pockrass Joins NASCAR Coverage Staff With

(Press Release from ESPN)

Bob Pockrass (Photo: ESPN Public Relations)

Bob Pockrass (Photo: ESPN Public Relations)

Award-winning motorsports writer Bob Pockrass has joined ESPN and will cover NASCAR for effective immediately

Pockrass, who has been covering NASCAR since 1991, will produce news stories, features, analysis, columns, blogs and more for the NASCAR section of The 2015 NASCAR season begins at Daytona International Speedway later this week.

Also, John Oreovicz, who has covered IndyCar, NHRA, NASCAR and other forms of motorsports for since 2004, has signed a contract with ESPN to continue his writing and reporting role. Oreovicz will join Pockrass in Florida to cover NASCAR Daytona Speedweeks for along with ESPN the Magazine senior writer Ryan McGee and ESPN bureau reporter Marty Smith.

Pockrass was most recently NASCAR writer for The Sporting News, a continuation of his previous position as associate editor for NASCAR Scene and that began in 2003. During those years he was twice named Writer of the Year by the National Motorsports Press Association (2009, 2013) and received numerous writing awards.

Pockrass, who was twice named to the “Twitter 100” of 100 sports personalities to follow on Twitter (2011, 2012), has also made dozens of television and radio appearances as a NASCAR expert.

Pockrass began his journalism career as a sports reporter for the Daytona Beach News-Journal, covering Florida State football, college and high school sports and motorsports for the 100,000-circulation daily newspaper from 1991-2003.

He is a graduate of Indiana University with a major in Journalism.

“Adding an accomplished veteran in Bob Pockrass to’s editorial staff is another step in ESPN’s continuing to serve NASCAR’s passionate and dedicated fanbase going forward,” said Patrick Stiegman, ESPN vice president, editorial, digital and print media. “We look forward to having Bob’s work appearing on our platforms.”

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing