Tickets Remain For New England Auto Racers Hall Of Fame Induction

Eight new inductees will be enshrined into the New England Auto Racers Hall of Fame by the New England Antique Racers on Nov. 10. Seven drivers and one car owner were announced last July as part of the 2013 induction class for the Hall of Fame.

Drivers Stan Meserve, Brian Ross, Drew Fornoro, Ralph Nason, the late Bob Stefanik, Bill Eldridge and Bob Sharp and car owner Ron Berndt will be inducted as part of the Hall of Fame’s 16th class during a ceremony on Nov. 10 at The Lodge at Manelley’s in South Windsor.

Tickets are priced at $45.00 each. Doors open at 11:00 a.m. with dinner served at noon.

Ticket order forms are available on the New England Antique Racers/Auto Racers Hall of Fame websiteDeadline for purchase is November 1st.

Berndt, a Meriden, native, has won races over six decades, most recently in 2012. Berndt’s grandson Eric leads a long list of well known names that have driven his Modifieds including Sparky Belmont, Danny Galullo, Ted Christopher and Dave Alkas.

Merserve, a Maine native, was a driver, car owner/mechanic and race official for four decades plus – including a season (1968) as an independent on the NASCAR Grand National circuit.

Eldridge, a native of Chelmsford, Mass., was the Northeastern Midget Association’s first champion in 1953 and is sixth on NEMA’s all-time win list 40 years after retiring. Stefanik, a Massachusetts native who passed away in 1984, was a standout at the former Riverside Park Speedway

Fornoro will join his father Nick in the Hall and holds Northeastern Midget Association records with 85 victories and nine championships. A Danbury native, Fornoro won at least one NEMA feature in 21 seasons at over 20 different tracks.

Sharp, a Norwalk native, is one of New England’s most accomplished road racers and he went to have a stellar car also as a car owner.Ross, a Ballston Spa, N.Y. native, was a standout in the Modified ranks over three decades, racing from 1961 to 2000.

Nason, a native Mainer, was a driver, car owner, builder and track owner and promoter over six decades in the sport.

—- Follow RaceDayCT at Facebook
—- Follow RaceDayCT on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing