Matt Hirschman Wins Tour Type Modified Feature At North-South Shootout At Caraway Speedway

The North-South Shootout is contested at Caraway Speedway, but ownership of the event truly belongs to one man: Matt Hirschman.

Matt Hirschman

Matt Hirschman

Hirschman proved once again Saturday that when the Modifieds head south to North Carolina to close the season he’s always the driver to beat.

Hirschman started on the pole and scored victory in dominating fashion in the John Blewett III Memorial North-South Shootout 125 Saturday at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.

Hirschman has now won five of the 11 Tour Type Modified events at the North-South Shootout since the event was introduced in 2003.

It was the fifth victory in the last eight years at the event for Hirschman. The Northampton, Pa. driver also won the event in 2006, 2007, 2010 and 2011.

George Brunnhoelzl III of West Babylon, N.Y. was second and Andy Seuss of Hampstead, N.H. was third. Brunnhoelzl and Seuss are both regulars on the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

Tommy Barrett Jr. of Millis, Mass. led the way for drivers from the Valenti Modified Racing Series and Whelen Modified Tour. Barrett, a regular on the Valenti Modified Racing Series, was fifth. Charlie Pasteryak, a part-timer on the Valenti Modified Racing Series from Lisbon, was sixth in the 26-car field.

Ron Silk of Norwalk was the top finishing Whelen Modified Tour regular in 10th place. Only two full-time Whelen Modified Tour teams and two full-time Valenti Modified Racing Series teams participated in the event. More than two-thirds of the field was made up of Southern based teams.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter


  1. wayne g. barber says

    What was the Payout, Purse ?

  2. Wayne,
    Nothing regarding any sort of payout/purse was included in the post race release from the track.

  3. Wayne G.Barber says

    Shawn, the payout was $6,000 to win, via Kevin Price PR. I think Matt also won the open in Seekonk for $5,000, Wayne

  4. Wayne,
    Like I said, nothing regarding the purse/payout was included in the post race press release. Matt won the SK Modified Open show at Seekonk this year. Doug Coby won the Tour Type Open Modified show this year.

  5. It is sad when you pay 6k to win and 1k for last and you cant fill the field -26 cars showed up…. you pay 300 to win and 75 for last and you get 20 cars to show up on a weekly basis???? (sk lites at stafford)

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing