“Long Island Mod Maniac” Jim Schaefer Excited To Launch Tri-Track Modified Series Sunday At Lee

Tri-Track Logo

Call him the accidental promoter.

Jim Schaefer never intended to become the creator of a racing series.

In 2009 Schaefer, known around Modified racing circles as the “Long Island Mod Maniac”, was just a fan looking to help make competing at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway more attractive to competitors on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

That year Schaefer added $1,400 out of his own pocket to the winner’s purse for the Whelen Modified Tour’s visit to Riverhead.

The simple donation grew into a passion off raising funds yearly to help increase the purses for all the competitors in Whelen Modified Tour events at Riverhead. This year, while still helping to increase the purse amounts through donations for both Whelen Modified Tour events at Riverhead, Schaefer has also taken his show on the road with a new endeavor to support Modified racing.

Schaefer is behind the creation of the Tri-Track Open Modified Series, which will have its first event Sunday with the running of the Bullring Bash 100 at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, N.H.

“I’m like a 9-year old again and just having a little party,” Schaefer said. “It’s exciting. It’s out of my territory a little bit, so that makes it a new experience, but it’s a lot of fun. It’s a trip doing this whole thing.”

The Tri-Track Series is made up of open Tour Type Modified shows at Lee, Star Speedway in Epping, N.H. on June 14 and Seekonk (Mass.) Speedway on July 23.

“I taught school for 30 years and each year we put on this big production as part of the spring time and it was always so much fun getting there and doing it, but at the same time, boy are you glad when it’s over,” Schaefer said. “It’s kind of that feel. It’s very exciting. It’s not real work, it’s kind of fun work. But I can’t wait until this is over so I can just go sit in the stands and watch all the races again.”

The Tri-Track Series will pay a $10,000 point fund to up to 20 competitors who compete in all three at Lee, Star and Seekonk.

“It’s basically a way to say thank you to 20 teams that support all three shows,” Schaefer said.

Schaefer said the biggest portion of the point’s fund purse was put up by Sam Kramer of Alloy Wheel Repair Specialists of Massachusetts. The points fund will pay $1,500 to the driver at the top of the standings at the end of the series down to $300 to the 20th place driver in the standings.

Some of the top names in Modified racing have already committed to the series, including reigning NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ryan Preece of Berlin, who was the recipient in 2009 at Riverhead of Schaefer’s first inflated winner’s purse.

Reigning Valenti Modified Racing Series champion Rowan Pennink of Huntingdon Valley, Pa. is also expected to compete in all three series events, along with two-time Valenti Modified Racing Series champion Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, 2003 Whelen Modified Tour champion and current Valenti Modified Racing Series points leader Todd Szegedy of Ridgefield and three-time Valenti Modified Racing Series champion Jon McKennedy of Chelmsford, Mass.

A list of others expected in all three events also includes Justin Bonsignore of Holtsville, N.Y., Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa., Jeff Rocco of Wallingford, Richard Savary of Canton, Mass., Anthony Nocella of Woburn, Mass., Andy Seuss of Hampstead, NH., Les Hinckley III of Windsor Locks, Tommy Barrett Jr. of Millis, Mass., Todd Annarummo of Swansea, Mass, Steve Masse of Bellingham, Mass. and Max Zachem of Preston.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter


  1. Good luck to Andy J #73 from buffalo, ny

  2. All the best to them but man I would not have picked Mother’s Day. That’s always been a taboo race date. Hope it all comes together for them at Lee regardless.

  3. Another Ink Stained Wretch says

    Well played, sir. “The Angry Blogger” serves his revenge ice cold.

  4. Shawn~ Can you post/get an up to date entry list for this race?

  5. Chris, this is the latest I’ve seen from Jim Schaefer from Friday: Ryan Preece, Jon McKennedy, Andy Seuss,Tommy Barrett, Matt Hirschman,Rowan Pennink, Todd Szegedy, Justin Bonsignore, Chris Pasteryak, Jimmy Zacharias, Andy Jankowiak, Max Zachem, Richard Savary, Anthony Nocella, Matthew Swanson, Steve Masse, Todd Annarummo, Jeff Malave, Stan Mertz, Colbey Fournier, Josh Cantara, TJ Potrzebowski, James Dolan, Jeff Rocco, Keith Rocco, Russ Wood, Jimmy Storace, Jonathan Kievman, Karl Fredrickson, Carl Medeiros, Matt Galko, Mike Douglas, Dennis Perry, Dick Houlihan, Spencer Davis in the Hillbilly 79.

  6. Todd Ceravolo..#16 former Thompson Speedwat Champion for the Modified win !!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing