Anthony Anders Remains Atop Short Track National Standings; Keith Rocco, Ryan Preece Stay Near Top

Whelen All American Series Logo

Local racers Keith Rocco of Wallingford and Ryan Preece of Berlin remained third and sixth respectively this week in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national standings.

Anthony Anders continues to lead the national standings.

Anders has 21 wins, 32 top-five’s and 35 top-10’s in 37 starts this year between Greenville (S.C.) Pickens Speedway, Anderson (S.C.) Motor Speedway, Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Speedway and Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. He has 704 points.

Under the point structure for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I standings, a race winner receives two points for every car in the event up to 18 cars. Second place receives two fewer points and so on through the field. Three bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a single-digit starting position and five bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a double-digit starting position.

Anders had a 10-point lead over two-time defending national champion Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. last week, but extended that lead to 13 points this week. Pulliam has 15 victories, 27 top-five’s and 28 top-10’s in 32 starts this year between Southern National Motorsports Park in Kenly, N.C., South Boston and Motor Mile. Has has 691 points.

Rocco, the 2010 national chamoion, competes full-time in the Whelen All-American Division I SK Modified ranks at the Waterford Speedbowl, Stafford Motor Speedway and Thompson Speedway. He has nine victories, 21 top-fives and 24 top-10’s in 26 starts this year for 661 points. In 15 starts at Waterford he has eight wins, six seconds and a third. His other victory this year came at Thompson.

Preece has 596 points on the strength of eight victories, 18 top-five’s and 22 top-10’s in 25 starts. Preece competes full-time in the SK Modified divisions at Stafford and Thompson and part-time in the Tour Type Modified division at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway and the SK Modified division at Waterford.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing