NASCAR Announces Modified Lineup For Whelen All-Star Shootout At NHMS

Whelen All-Star Race LogoA field of drivers featuring nine former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour titles and more than 100 series victories will hit the track for the inaugural Whelen All-Star Shootout Friday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

NASCAR announced the twenty driver lineup for the event Tuesday, led by seven-time Whelen Modified Tour champion Mike Stefanik.

Stefanik, of Coventry, R.I., is the series all-time winningest driver. He retired from full-time competition after last season and has made one series start this year. Stefanik is also on the entry list for Saturday’s Whelen Modified Tour Sunoco 100 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The other former series champions in the event include Donny Lia, Ted Christopher, Bobby Santos III, Todd Szegedy, Ryan Preece, Doug Coby, Jamie Tomaino and Ron Silk.

Friday’s event will be a 40-lap shootout split in two 20-lap segments with a partial inversion after the halfway point.

The starting lineup for the event will be set by a random draw.

The race is scheduled to be begin at 2:10 p.m. Friday. It will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 on July 20 at 2 p.m.

Lineup (in the order they will draw for starting position)

  • Mike Stefanik, Coventry, R.I.: Nine-time NASCAR champion, including seven Whelen Modified Tour champions. Has 74 career Whelen Modified Tour victories.
  • Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y.: A two-time Whelen Modified Tour champion.
  • Ted Christopher, Plainville: Has 42 career Whelen Modified Tour victories and a series title in 2008. Has five Whelen Modified Tour wins in Loudon.
  • Bobby Santos III, Franklin, Mass.: The 2010 Modified Tour champion.
  • Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield: The 2003 Whelen Modified Tour champion. Won last September at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
  • Ryan Preece, Berlin: The reigning Whelen Modified Tour champion.
  • Doug Coby, Milford: The 2012 Whelen Modified Tour champion and a winner at New Hampshire Motor Speedway last July.
  • Ron Silk, Norwalk: Won a Whelen Modified Tour event in 2011 on the way to a series title that season.
  • Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J.: The 1990 Whelen Modified Tour champion, who has a record 574 series starts.
  • Andy Seuss, Hampstead, N.H.: Has 18 career Whelen Southern Modified Tour victories.
  • Ryan Newman, South Bend, Ind.: A regular on the Sprint Cup Series who has four career Whelen Modified Tour wins, including two in Loudon.
  • Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y.: Has three Whelen Modified Tour victories at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.
  • Matt Hirschman, Northampton, Pa.: Two career Whelen Modified Tour victories.
  • Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa.: A two-time Whelen Modified Tour winner.
  • J.R. Bertuccio, Centereach, N.Y.: A winner this season on the Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
  • Glen Reen, Wilbraham, Mass.: The 2008 Whelen Modified Tour Rookie of the Year and a one-time series winner.
  • Cole Powerll, Mount Brydges, Ontario: Last year’s Whelen Modified Tour rookie of the year.
  • Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y.: The 2009 Whelen Modified Tour Rookie of the Year who picked up his first career victory recently at his home track, Riverhead Raceway.
  • Bryan Dauzat, Alexandria, La.: Representing the Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
  • Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y.: The 2011 Whelen Modified Tour Rookie of the Year.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter


  1. Ryan “Cheater” Newman get’s a spot in this race? He is not a WMT driver. Him and his cheating team don’t belong in the WMT. He is a joke to the sport and should be embarrassed of him self. Funny how he has not won a WMT race since his team was caught CHEATING!

  2. No National Touring Series (Sprint Cup, Nationwide or Truck Series) driver should be allowed in a Regional Series race!

  3. kevin trageser says

    Patrick emerling in the race.huh.u kidding me .ryan newman.what.the 7 will have some big cheater motor for this race.u can bet the farm on that.

  4. Who came up with who would be in this race ? And why only 20 cars? It’s called the whelen modified all star race, with a limited field, don’t get it?

  5. Emerling?? Powell?? Dauzat?!?!? Man they were really looking for a way to fill the field huh?

    What a f’n joke! This race should only be for past winners and champions.

  6. kevin trageser says

    past winners and champions.thats what the race was suppose to be we got rich kids filling the field.

  7. darealgoodfella says

    Who is going to attend this event on Friday?

  8. Only 3 south drivers? should be top 15 in points wmt and southern mod tour, 30 cars 50 laps…….

  9. Paulrose, what are you talking about? Newman won the very next race that season at Bristol with the backup engine.

    For such a diehard fan, you have a very bad memory… or maybe it is a selective one?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing