Anthony Anders Lead Shrinks In Short Track National Rankings; Keith Rocco, Ryan Preece Remain Near The Top

Whelen All American Series Logo

Anthony Anders’s lead at the top of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national short track standings was cut by more than half this week by two-time defending national champion Lee Pulliam.

Anders has 25 wins, 37 top-five’s and 40 top-10’s in 42 starts this year between Greenville (S.C.) Pickens Speedway, Anderson (S.C.) Motor Speedway, Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Speedway and Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. He has 714 points.

What was a 19-point lead for Anders last week was cut to six points this week by Pulliam, who has 19 victories, 31 top-five’s and 32 top-10’s in 36 starts this year between Southern National Motorsports Park in Kenly, N.C., South Boston and Motor Mile. Pulliam has 708 points.

Under the point structure for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I standings, a race winner receives two points for every car in the event up to 18 cars. Second place receives two fewer points and so on through the field. Three bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a single-digit starting position and five bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a double-digit starting position.

Local racers Keith Rocco of Wallingford and Ryan Preece of Berlin remained third and fourth respectively in the standings this week.

Rocco, the 2010 national champion, competes full-time in the Whelen All-American Division I SK Modified ranks at the Waterford Speedbowl, Stafford Motor Speedway and Thompson Speedway. He has 12 victories, 28 top-fives and 31 top-10’s in 36 starts this year for 682 points.

Preece has 633 points on the strength of 11 victories, 30 top-five’s and 34 top-10’s in 37 starts. Preece competes full-time in the SK Modified divisions at Stafford and Thompson and part-time in the Tour Type Modified division at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway and the SK Modified division at Waterford.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing