Stafford Notes: Norm Sears Back On Top In Limited Late Model Division

SMS-LOGO-HOME-PAGE-2012STAFFORD – In early July at Stafford Motor Speedway Limited Late Model division driver Norm Sears wrecked his primary car and figured gone were his hopes of competing for another Stafford championship, or possibly even returning to competition.

Only hours after the wreck Sears found out he was back on track to keep chasing a title.

“That Saturday morning I got a call from [team owner] Mike Cote, he said [my] car is yours if you want it,” Sears said.

Friday, in his third race with Cote’s team, Sears put them in victory lane.

Sears won the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature Friday at Stafford Motor Speedway.

It was the first victory since 2012 for the Andover driver.

For the second time this season, rookie Nick Salva left Stafford Motor Speedway with a dented roof on his racecar. That was a good thing.

Salva dented the roof himself when he climbed on it to celebrate victory in the 20-lap SK Light Modified feature.

Salva, who scored his first victory at the track on May 23, went to the front early and never looked back Friday.

Jay Goff of Stafford was second and Tyler Hines of North Haven third.

Adam Gray of Belchertown, Mass. took the lead from Kevin Gambacorta on a lap seven restart and never trailed again on the way to his third victory of the season in the 30-lap Late Model feature.

Michael Scorzelli of Malta, N.Y. was second and Cory Casagrande rallied from a lap seven wreck to finish third.

In the 20-lap Legends car it was Cory DiMatteo of Farmington scoring his second victory of the season. Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott was second and Mikey Flynn of Hampden, Mass. third.

Andrew Marchese of Tolland won the 15-lap DARE Stock feature. Brandon Michael of Granville, Mass was second and Trace Beyer of Brewster, N.Y. third.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter


  1. Someguy1908 says

    Im pretty sure Andy marchese won Brandon Michael 2 nd and trace beyer 3 rd

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing