On Tap Presented By Ric’s Café: The Sun Begins To Set On The Local Racing Season

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Cafe

On Tap Rics Cafe

On Tap Rics 286 Box

It’s that part of the year no race fans really ever want to arrive.

It’s time for the closers to begin.

A triple-play of big closing weekends over the next four weeks at Connecticut short tracks kicks off this weekend at Stafford Motor Speedway with the running of the NAPA Auto Parts Fall Final.

On the shore, the Waterford Speedbowl opens the gates for their last NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Saturday weekly show of the season.

For more details on everything going on this weekend, check out the capsules below:


What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR All-American Series event.

Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

When: Saturday – Sunday

Saturday: Qualifying for the Whelen Modified Tour; qualifying for weekly divisions; Features: 20-lap SK Light Modified; 20-lap Limited Late Model, 15-lap DARE Stock, 20-lap Legends and 15-lap DARE Stock Paradiso and Muska Shootout. Grandstands open and practice begins: 10 a.m.; Qualifying: 2:30 p.m.; Features: Immediately following qualifying.
Sunday: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified and 30-lap Late Model. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; NAPA Pit Party: 11 a.m.; Features: 1 p.m.

More: The 18th event of the season at Stafford Motor Speedway. … The 12th of 13 Whelen Modified Tour events this season and fourth and final Whelen Modified Tour event of the season at Stafford Speedway and the seventh of eight at state short tracks this season. … Doug Coby, the 2012 series champion, goes into Sunday’s Whelen Modified Tour event with a 26-point lead over second place Justin Bonsignore in standings. … Ted Christopher, the 2008 series champion, is 34 points off the lead in third and Bobby Santos III, the 2010 series champion, is 39 points behind in fourth. … Bonsignore is the only driver in the top-six in the standings without a series championship. Ron Silk, the 2011 series champion, is fifth in the standings and reigning series champion Ryan Preece is sixth in the standings. … Santos, Coby and Woody Pitkat have won the other three Whelen Modified Tour events at Stafford this year. … The Whelen Modified Tour closes its season on Oct. 19 at Thompson Speedway. … Last week, Michael Gervais got his first win of the season in the SK Modified division at Stafford. … Going into the final event of the season Ted Christopher holds a six-point lead over Ryan Preece in the SK Modified division standings. Reigning SK Modified division Woody Pitkat is 26 points behind Christopher in third. Christopher is looking for his ninth SK Modified track title at Stafford. Preece is trying to to win his second. Preece finished second to Pitkat by two points in 2013. … Preece has won five of the 15 SK Modified features at the track this year. … Other winners this year include Pennink (five wins), Rocco (two), Ted Christopher and rookies Chase Dowling and Ronnie Williams. … Christopher is the only driver to finish in the top-10 in all 16 events this year. … Mike Scorzelli won for the first time ever in the Late Model feature last week at Stafford. Adam Gray, with a third place finish last week, clinched his second consecutive Late Model division championship at Stafford. Gray has five victories this season. Other winners this year include Jay Stuart (three), Michael Bennett (twice), Jim Peterson (twice), JJ Hill, Josh Wood and Tom Fearn. … For more information check the Stafford Motor Speedway website.

New Speedbowl Logo

What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series event

Where: Waterford Speedbowl

When: Saturday

Schedule: 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model. 25-lap Street Stock, 25-lap Mini Stock, 25-lap SK Light Modified and 25-lap Legends. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 5:30 p.m.; Features: Approximately 7 p.m.

More: The 22nd event of the season at the shoreline oval. … The final weekly Saturday night racing card of the season at Waterford. … Last week, Diego Monahan got his first victory of the season in the SK Modified. … Keith Rocco has won 10 of 21 SK Modified feature events this year at Waterford. … Other SK Modified division winners this year include Tyler Chadwick (two), Ed Puleo (twice), Kyle James (twice), Rob Janovic Jr., Joey Gada, Jeffrey Gallup and Craig Lutz. … Rocco has already clinched the SK Modified division championship at the track. … Anthony Ryan Jr. won the Late Model feature last week at Waterford. … Other winners this year in the Late Model division include Rocco (11), Bruce Thomas Jr. (three), Vin Esposito (two) and Jason Palmer (two). … Rocco holds a 75-point lead over Bruce Thomas Jr. in the Late Model standings and will likely clinch his second consecutive championship in that division Saturday. … For more information check the Waterford Speedbowl website.

On Tap Rics Cafe

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing