NASCAR’s Whelen Modified Tours Add New Contingency Awards For 2015 Season

(Press Release from NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications)

Whelen Modified TourNASCAR and Hoosier Racing Tire, the exclusive tire supplier for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tours, announced today an exciting new awards program that is sure to be a hit among the teams in both tours.

The Hoosier Lap Leader Award, Hoosier Fastest Lap Award, and Hoosier Most Improved Award will be presented at each event for both Modified tours throughout the season, with additional mid-year and year-end awards increasing the prize pool for eligible teams.

“There is no more passionate racing community than the teams, drivers, and fans associated with our Modified tours,” said Brad Moran, NASCAR’s managing director, touring series. “Our partners share that same passion, and these new awards further cement the position of the Whelen Modified and Southern Modified Tours as the premier short-track, open-wheeled racing league in North America.”

NASCAR and Hoosier Racing Tire recently reached an agreement for Hoosier to continue as the exclusive tire supplier for NASCAR’s Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen Southern Modified Tour through 2019.

All three awards will be for each event in both tours. In the Whelen Modified Tour, the mid-year bonus for each award will be presented after the July 18 race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

In the Whelen Southern Modified Tour, mid-year awards will be presented after the July 4 race at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, North Carolina.

· The Hoosier Lap Leader Award goes to the eligible car owner whose driver leads the most laps in each event. The mid-year and season end awards will be presented to the eligible car owner whose driver has led the most laps at those points in the season.

· The Hoosier Fastest Lap Award will be presented to the eligible car owner whose driver scores the fastest lap time in each event, with the mid-year bonus going to the owner whose driver has won the most per event awards. The season end award goes to the eligible owner whose driver wins the most per event awards during the course of the season.

· Eligible owners can win the Hoosier Most Improved Award if their driver improves the most positions during the course of each race. The mid-year award will go to the owner whose drivers secures the most per event awards, with the season end award presented to the owner whose driver wins the most per event awards for the season.

The Whelen Modified Tour kicks off the 2015 season with the Icebreaker 150 on April 12 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Thompson, Connecticut. The race will air on NBCSN on April 17. The Whelen Southern Modified Tour opens the season on March 14 at Caraway Speedway.

Follow RaceDayCT On FacebookFollow RaceDayCT On Twitter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing