Lee Pulliam Remains Atop NASCAR Short Track National Standings; Ryan Preece, Keith Rocco In Top Five

Whelen All American Series LogoThe top-five of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series standings remained unchanged this week.

Two-time national champion Lee Pulliam continues to lead the way in the standings, which were released for the first time this season last week.

Pulliam, of Semora, N.C., has eight victories, 15 top-fives and 16 top-10’s in 16 starts this season at South Boston (Va.) Speedway, Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va., Motor Mile Speedway in Radford, Va. and Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.

Pulliam, the 2012 and 2013 national champion, has 436 points under the Whelen All-American Series points structure.

Under the point structure for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I standings, a race winner receives two points for every car in the event up to 18 cars. Second place receives two fewer points and so on through the field. Three bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a single-digit starting position and five bonus points will be awarded to a race winner with a double-digit starting position. Whelen All-American Series points season will run through Sunday, Sept. 20.

David Roberts is second in the standings with 339 points. He has three victories in 18 starts between Greenville-Pickens Speedway in Greenville, S.C, Anderson (S.C.) Speedway and Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Speedway.

With eight victories in 16 starts between Kingsport (Tenn.) Speedway, Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, Va. and Caraway Speedway, Kres VanDyke is third in the standings with 336 points.

Ryan Preece of Berlin is fourth in the standings with 329 points. Preece competes full-time in the SK Modified divisions at Stafford Motor Speedway and Thompson Speedway and part-time in the Tour Type Modified division at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway. Preece, who won last Saturday at Riverhead, has two wins, eight top-five’s and 12 top-10’s in 12 starts this year.

Keith Rocco of Wallingford is fifth in the standings with 325 points. Rocco, the 2010 Whelen All-American Series national champion, competes full-time in the SK Modified divisions at Stafford Motor Speedway, New London-Waterford Speedbowl and Thompson Speedway. Rocco won last Saturday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl and has three wins, eight top-five’s and 10 top-10’s in 10 starts this year.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing