On Tap Presented By Ric’s Place: Whelen Modified Tour Rolls Back To Action

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

On Tap Logo Rics 2015 280

With Memorial Day weekend in the rearview the summer racing begins to heat up this weekend with the first of three visits to state tracks over a 12-day period for the Whelen Modified Tour.

The Waterford Speedbowl plays host to the Whelen Modified Tour Saturday with the running of the Mr. Rooter 161. The division runs at Stafford Motor Speedway on June 5 and then at Thompson Speedway on June 10.

Stafford Motor Speedway returns to action Friday with Military Appreciation Night. Military members with a valid ID can get a $10 admission on Friday. It also marks Xtramart Xtra D night for the Limited Late Model division at the track. The division will run a 25-lap feature instead of their normal 20-lap event.

For more on this weekend’s racing action, check out the capsules below.

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Racing Card

When: Friday

Schedule: 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 25-lap Limited Late Model, 20-lap DARE Stock and 20-lap Legends. Grandstands open: 5:15 p.m. Qualifying: 6:15 p.m. Features: Immediately following qualifying.

More: The sixth event of the season at Stafford Motor Speedway. … The track celebrates Military Appreciation Night with $10 admission to current and former military with a valid identification. … Rowan Pennink picked up his second victory of the season in last week’s SK Modified feature. … Pennink and Ronnie Williams each have two wins in the division this season. Keith Rocco is the only other winner in the division this year. … Rocco holds a six-point advantage of second place Pennink in the standings. Ryan Preece is third in the standings, 12 points behind Rocco. … Rocco, Preece and Joey Cipriano are the only drivers this year with top-10 finishes in all five events. Pennink is the only driver with four top-five finishes this year. … Michael Bennett won for the third time in five events this year in the Late Model feature last week. … With two victories, Josh Wood is the only other winner in the divison this year. … Bennett holds a 12-point lead over second place Kevin Gambacorta in the standings. Wood and Michael Scorzelli are tied for third, 26 points off the lead. … Bennett, Gambacorta and Scorzelli are the only drivers with top-10 finishes in all five events this year. … The Limited Late Model division goes 25 laps this weekend instead of the normal 20 for the division as part of the Xtramart Xtra D program. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.

New London Waterford Speedbowl LogoWhere: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series Racing Card

When: Saturday

Schedule: 161-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap Limited Sportsman and 25-lap Mini Stock. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 5:30 p.m.; Features: 7:25 p.m.

More: The fifth event of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. … The first and only visit to the track this season by the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. … The third of 15 events on the schedule for the division this year and third of nine Whelen Modified Tour events at Connecticut short tracks this year. … The division opened its season on April 12 at Thompson, where Doug Coby was victorious. Woody Pitkat won the division’s second event of the season on April 26 at Stafford Motor Speedway. … Pitkat leads the Whelen Modified Tour standings by three points over Coby. Ryan Preece is third in the standings, seven points behind Pitkat. Todd Szegedy and Eric Goodale are tied for fourth, 12 points off the lead. … The Whelen Modified Tour returned to the New London-Waterford Speedbowl in 2012 after a six-year hiatus from the track. Coby won at Waterford in 2012, Preece in 2013 and Bobby Santos III won last year’s event for the division at the shoreline oval. … Keith Rocco won last week’s SK Modified feature. It was his second victory in four events this year. Ted Christopher and Tim Jordan are the other winners in the division this year. … Rocco leads second place Diego Monahan by 21 points in the division standings. Rob Janovic Jr. is third, 27 points off the lead. … Rocco also won last week’s Late Model feature at the track. He has won three of the division’s four events this year. Jason Palmer is the only other winner in the division this year. … Rocco leads second place Palmer by 13 points in the Late Model standings. Jeff Rocco is third, 16 points off the lead. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing