Les Hinckley Wins Valenti Modified Racing Series Victor Johnson 100 At Monadnock

(Press Release from the Valenti Modified Racing Series)

Les Hinckely celebrates Saturday at Monadnock Speedway (Photo: Valenti Modified Racing/Jill Chastenay)

Les Hinckely celebrates Saturday at Monadnock Speedway (Photo: Valenti Modified Racing/Jill Chastenay)

WINCHESTER, N.H. – Emotionally drained after completing a 100-lap race slowed once by a minor spin, Les Hinckley III, of Windsor Locks, CT, sat for a brief period speaking only with series officials, before exiting his race car to a cheering crowd and well wishers.

The Windsor Locks, CT, driver had just completed his journey back to racing and won the Valenti Modified Racing Series ‘Victor Johnson 100′, Saturday night, Aug 22, at Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, NH.

Hinckley, cleared by doctors last month to return to racing after
missing most of the current season for required surgery, bested Todd Patnode, and Russ Hersey, both of Swanzey, NH, for the home field advantage podium finish. Pitkat settled for fourth with Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, CT, rounding out the top five.

Hinckley’s victory was his 18th career VMRS win and his fifth at Monadnock.
Hinckley, who last won a series race in July of 2012, started on the pole and led the first 9-laps before Stafford Springs, CT, driver Woody Pitkat slipped by to take over top spot. Pitkat would hold the lead until lap 51 when Hinckley took it back and was never headed.

“They cleared me to race a month ago and I didn’t want to race anywhere else. I wanted to come back here,” explained Hinckley in victory lane. “Can’t race every week it’s just not in the plans. We could have gone to Beech Ridge or Waterford but it had to be here (Monadnock).”
Hinckley added, “Woody got by early but it looked like he was getting a bit loose. I put the pressure on him and he came back to us a little bit. The car never went away.”

Fighting through emotion Hinckley added, “First and foremost I do want to say, this has been a tough couple of years for us. We lost my car owner Chuck (Montville) this is still his program and it will always be his program. Nothings changed on this car. The numbers and colors the same. This one’s for Chucky. All that my son Allen has gone through makes my health issues secondary. This is for my family.”

Runner-up finisher Patnode was pleased with second place.” The car was real good tonight. We got a little free around lap 46 so we had to conserve a little bit and hope we had something at the end. That’s the best we had the car all year. Congrats to Les. It was good to see him come back and win.”

Russ Hersey started 15th in the 26-car field and finished third.” We’ve been sneaking up on it a bit each week. A lot of people to thank. Ken Barry from Spafco, Mike Pettit from Pettit engines, Greg Felton from the # 42 car has helped me design stuff for this car and we are starting to get a handle on it. This finish with Les and Todd brought back some memories. Victor Johnson is always in our minds when we strap into these things.”

Race Notes: Sixth through tenth were: Chris Pasteryak, David Schneider, Matt Mead, Rowan Pennink, and Carl Medeiros Jr. … 26 race teams entered the 11th race of the season. All 26 drivers started the race. … The race was completed in 27 minutes 08 seconds. With one caution flag displayed on lap 46 (minor spin). … Seven cars finished on the lead lap. … Kirk Alexander returned to action after missing two races (surgery). … Jon McKennedy has been tabbed to drive the #42 car at Oxford as Woody Pitkat will be competing at Riverhead Long Island, NY. … McKennedy traveled 10 hours to Monadnock from Delaware Ontario where he competed in an ISMA supermodified race Friday night.

Race Summary
Monadnock Speedway
August 22, 2015
Race # 11
Entrants (26)
Distance: 100-laps
Time: 27:08:551
Margin of Victory: 1.449
Best Speed: 71.118 (Pitkat)
Average Speed: 55.538
Best Lap Time: 12:655 (Pitkat)
Lead Changes: 2
Lap Leaders: Hinckley (1-9) Pitkat (10-51) Hinckley (52-100)
Cautions: Laps 46
Heat winners: Ianarelli, Medeiros, Alexander
Unofficial Order of Finish: (1) Hinckley (2) Patnode (3) Hersey (4) Pitkat (5) Szegedy (6) Pasteryak (7) Schneider (8) Mead (9) Pennink (10) Medeiros (11) Willis (12) Lashua (13) McKennedy (14) Alexander (15) Wrenn (16) Kopec (17) Iannarelli (18) Dion (19) Pearl (20) Sherman (21) Bakaj (22) Douglas (23) Holdridge (24) Doucette (25) Perry (26) Richardi


  1. Congrats to Les!!!!

    Not sure how “…a 100-lap race slowed once by a minor spin,…” results in 32 caution laps, though 🙂

  2. Very nice seeing Hinckley back in victory circle. A popular win I’m sure.

    Patnode and/or Pasteryak can really make a move in the MRS points with Woody and Todd at Riverhead next Saturday. Woody has built a big enough lead to still be in it even after next week. I’m sure Oxford will draw a few less cars. I’m not sure who that helps more though, Woody or Patnode? Looks like Savary has parked it after the Beech Ridge deal. I haven’t seen much said about it. That, or I missed it.

  3. Dave Borawski says

    i don’t see where it says 32 caution laps, but they don’t count in valianti series anyway.

  4. knuckles mahoney says

    I keep saying how the hell Les doesn’t have a regular ride is beyond stupid. He lets woody by and just paces off him for 40 laps, could have got buy him at least 5 times by my count, then passes him and says bye bye to the field. The 16 puts in someone who hasn’t done crap, the 64 puts in someone who has done even less, and look how that’s worked out. Les and his crew set up the 52 for Civali at Seekonk at look what happened. Car owners should really rethink if they wanna win or just run.

  5. I hope Les can keep this win, and Bateman doesn’t make it a wrestling match, win for some one else.

  6. This just in, Les Hinckley DQ’d for having a yellow car…

  7. What no major controversy yet? LOL Just kidding this VMRS most times is way better to watch than the NASCARS version of the WWF Modified Tour.

  8. Grey Matter says

    DQ’d for the trophy being taller than his car!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing