Unique, Top Dollar Finish for Tri-Track Series At New London-Waterford Speedbowl

(Press Release from The Tri-Track Open Modified Series )

Tri-Track LogoThe Modified Tri-Track Series will end its second season Sunday, Oct. 25 at the New London Waterford Speedbowl’s Bemer’s Big Show. The $58,000 “Pavers’ Mulligan Stew” caps off an eight-race Tri-Track adventure that has paid out just short of half a million dollars.

Tri-Track’s dynamic duo – Long Islander Jim Schaefer and Rhode Island’s Dick Williams – have come up with a unique approach for an expected 40-to-50 car field. Two $3,000-to win 35 lappers ($400 to start) will qualify 11 cars each for the $5,000-to-win 65-lap feature, the latter sponsored by Nocella Paving.

“It is designed for everybody to go home with something,” explains Williams.

Ed French & Son Paving, Metcalf Paving and Pasteryak Paving are the 35-lap sponsors. The four 2015 Tri-Track winners – Ronnie Silk (New London-Waterford), Matt Hirshman (Monadnock), Rich Savary (Seekonk) and Chris Pasteryak (Lee) – are guaranteed starters. If they qualify via the 35-lappers, those feature spots will be awarded based on 2015 Tri-Track points.

The busy Sunday begins with a Modified practice from noon to 1 pm followed by a consi for the $2,000-to-win 35-lap Legends feature that follows the two 35-lap Modified shows. The Legends race is also Tri-Track backed.

The Speedbowl’s SK-Modifieds, SK-Lites and Late Models are also on the Sunday agenda. The SK Modifieds will run a 75-lap, $5,000 to win event. 

A conversation regarding the open-competition events of the 1960s and 70s was the motivation for the Tri-Track Series. Willliams and Schaefer joined forces, put together a team and moved ahead with races at Lee, Seekonk and Star Speedway in 2014. “You have to take care of the tracks, of the fans and of the racers,” says Williams, explaining Tri-Track’s average field of 42 cars.

The field for the Pavers’ Mulligan Stew” may exceed that. In addition to the guaranteed starters, the Speedbowl will be well represented by champion Keith Rocco and Ted Christopher. Others expected are Eric Berndt, Woody Pitkat, Doug Coby, Steve Masse, Les Hinckley, Mike Holdridge, Todd Annarummo, Richard Savary, Anthony Nocella, Ryan Preese, Zane Zeiner and Andy Jankowiak, the latter two off strong finishes in the ROC 200 at Chemung, NY.

It can only happen, Williams believes, on short tracks. The first seven races produced six winners, Hirshman the only driver to double up. Jon McKennedy (Star) and Tony Barrett (Seekonk) were also 2014 winners.

Northeast Race Cars and Parts, Dunleavy Truck and Tractor Repair, Alloy Wheel Repair Specialists, Seekonk Grand Prix and Red Roof Inns are among Tri-Track’s major sponsors.


  1. It would be cool if the heat winners were mandated to start last in the final feature

  2. Fast Eddie says

    How about the top ten main event starters invert or draw for position?

  3. NH mod fan says

    No matter how they set up the show it’s just good to see a group dedicated to the modifieds.

  4. Any ideas as to the rest of the purse for the sk mods?

  5. Hate to say it but the twin 35 lap qualifiers could be a wreck fest if only 11 qualify from each for the 65 lapper. We will see!

  6. Bob, I heard the sk race is $5000 to win like it has been. It’s still being considered the bud modified nationals even though it’s only 75 laps now.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing