Speedbowl Notes: Wayne Burroughs Makes It Two In A Row In Mini Stocks

Wayne Burroughs Jr.

Wayne Burroughs Jr.

WATERFORD – The reigning Mini Stock champion at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl is officially on a summer roll.

Wayne Burroughs Jr. scored his second consecutive victory in Saturday’s 25-lap Mini Stock feature at the Speedbowl.

“It’s huge,” Burroughs said. “The points situation, we got ourselves quite a ways behind so the wins are bonus points. So we’re trying to strike and get as many wins as we can and hopefully close that gap up.”

Ken Cassidy Jr. of Lisbon was second and Sean Caron of East Hampton third.

Burroughs went by Ian Brew for the lead with 16 laps remaining and never trailed again.

Keith Rocco of Wallingford got his first win in the Late Model division since May 7 in the first 25-lap feature of the night.

Anthony Flannery of East Hampton was second and Jeff Smith of Old Lyme third.

Rocco went by Christopher Garside for the lead on the first lap and never trailed again.

“We started on sticker [tires],” Rocco said. “It probably wasn’t the best choice, but we had to throw something at this thing. I have to thank the whole team. They worked real hard.”

Flannery got his second victory in his last three events in the second 25-lap Late Model feature of the night.

Jason Palmer of Berlin was second and Smith third.

Flannery started sixth in the field and went by Smith for the lead with 20 laps left and led the rest of the way.

Monte Gibbs of Killingworth led every circuit to get his third win of 2016 in the 25-lap Limited Sportsman feature.

Josh Galvin of Oakdale was second and Al Stone III of Durham third.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing