On Tap Presented By Four Seasons By The Lake: NAPA Fall Final At Stafford; Speedbowl Saturday Action

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What:  NAPA Fall Final

When: Saturday – Sunday


Saturday: Practice and qualifying for all divisions; 20-lap Limited Late Model, 20-lap Street Stock, Ladies Challenge, Vintage All-Stars. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; Qualifying: 2:30 p.m.; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

Sunday: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour NAPA Fall Final 150, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model and 20-lap SK Light Modified. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; NAPA Pit Party: 11 a.m.; Features: 1 p.m.

More: The 21st and final event of the season at Stafford. … The Whelen Modified Tour NAPA Fall Final 150 is the 15th of 16 points events this year for the series. … The Whelen Modified Tour makes its third stop of the season at Stafford. … Ryan Preece won the NAPA Spring Sizzler on April 29 and Doug Coby was the winner of the Starrett 150 on Aug. 3. … Marks the sixth of seven Whelen Modified Tour events this year in Connecticut. Series points leader Justin Bonsignore has won all three events this year at Thompson Speedway the season.  The Whelen Modified Tour closes its season with the Sunoco World Series 150 on Oct. 14 at Thompson Speedway. … Bonsignore has won seven of 14 events this year and can clinch his first series championship Sunday at Stafford. Bonsignore needs to finish 21st or better or have second place Chase Dowling finish sixth or worse to clinch the title before the final event of the season. … In 33 career starts at Stafford, Bonsignore has never won. … Dowling is coming off his first career Whelen Modified Tour victory Saturday in the inaugural Musket 250 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. … Sunday’s event marks the 128th Whelen Modified Tour event at Stafford Speedway since 1985. … Coby leads active drivers with 11 Whelen Modified Tour wins at Stafford. Coby has won the last four Whelen Modified Tour titles and also won the championship in 2012. … Mike Stefanik is the all-time winningest driver in Whelen Modified Tour history at Stafford with 20 career wins. Coby’s 11 wins is third best all-time behind the late Ted Christopher, who had 12 victories. … In the last event at Stafford on Sept. 14, Mike Christopher Jr. scored his second consecutive SK Modified victory and third win of the season. … Other SK Modified winners this year include Keith Rocco (six), Ronnie Williams (four), Eric Berndt (three), Rowan Pennink, Joey Cipriano III, Glen Reen and Chase Dowling. … Williams clinched his first SK Modified championship on Sept. 14. … Darrell Keane got his second win of the season in the last Late Model event at Stafford. … Other Late Model winners this year include Tom Fearn (12), Glen Reen (two), Paul Arute, Michael Wray, Albert Saunders and Kevin Gambacorta. … Fearn clinched the Late Model championship on Sept. 7. … Andrew Molleur got his fourth win of the season in the last SK Light Modified feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Marcello Rufrano (six), Bryan Narducci (five), Mark Bakaj (two), Teddy Hodgdon, Joey Ferrigno and George Nocera Jr. … Rufrano and Narducci are tied at the top of the SK Light Modified standings going into the final event. With no possibility of a tie in the point standings, whichever one finishes highest in the running order Sunday wins his first division title. Narducci is a 17-year old rookie in the division. The 18-year old Rufrano is in his second year in the division. … Narducci won the 2018 NASCAR Division III national championship. … Ryan Fearn got his fifth victory of the season in the last Limited Late Model feature. … Other Limited Late Model division winners this year are Jeremy Lavoie (eight), Duane Provost (four), Justin Bren (two) and Alexandra Fearn … Lavoie clinched his first Limited Late Model championship on Sept. 14. … Part-timer Johnny Walker got his fourth Street Stock win in nine starts this season in the last event on Sept. 14. … Other Street Stock division winners this year are George Bessette (four), Nicole Chambrello (two), Tess Beyer (two), Michael Hopkins (two), Brandon Michael (two), Trace Beyer, Jason Lafayette, Travis Hydar and Meghan Fuller. … Bessette clinched his first Street Stock championship on Sept. 14. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.

Where: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: Weekly racing card

When: Saturday

Schedule:  40-lap SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap SK Light Modified, 30-lap Sportsman, 25-lap Mini Stock, 20-lap Legends (2) and 25-lap Trucks. Grandstands open: 3 p.m; Qualifying: 5:30 p.m.; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

More: The 16th event of the season at the Speedbowl. … Last week, Todd Owen got his third win of the season in the SK Modified feature. … Other SK Modified winners this year include Kyle James (seven) and Rob Janovic Jr. (two). … James holds a 19-point lead over second place Janovic in the SK Modified standings with Owen in third, 33 points off the lead. … Anthony Flannery got his fourth victory of the season in last week’s Late Model feature. … Other Late Model winners this year are Jason Palmer (four), Ryan Morgan (two) and Bruce Thomas Jr. … Palmer leads second place Flannery by one point in the Late Model division standings with Morgan in third, 68 points off the lead. … Brett Gonyaw and Keith Caruso got their first wins of the season in last week’s twin SK Light Modified features. … Other SK Light Modified division winners this year are Jon Puleo (four), Andrew Molleur and Wayne Burroughs Jr. (two). … Burroughs leads second place Puleo by two points in the SK Light Modified standings with John O’Sullivan in third, 38 points off the lead. … Adrien Paradis III got his first win of the season in the last Sportsman feature. … Other Sportsman winners this year include Al Stone III (three), Shawn Gaedeke (three) Jon Porter (two), Jordan Hadley, Bo Norman, Jason Chicolas and Ryan Waterman. … Gaedeke leads second place Chicolas by 27 points in the standings with Norman in third, 49 points off the lead. … Andrew Krzeminski got his first win of the season in last week’s Mini Stock feature. … Other winners this year include Charles Canfield (seven), Doug Curry (two), Jordan Hadley, Nick Pappacoda, Nate Taylor and Jake Christian. … Canfield leads second place Curry by five points in the Mini Stock standings with Pappacoda in third, 28 points behind Canfield. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.

Guests on this week’s Unmuffled podcast include Justin Bonsignore, Ryan Preece, Chase Dowling, Burt Myers, Bryan Narducci, Marcello Rufrano and Nicole LaRose


Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing