David Antos Tops Street Stocks, Justin Squires Gets First Mini Stock Win At Riverhead Raceway

(Press Release from Riverhead Raceway)

The longest off season in the 70-year history of Riverhead Raceway officially came to a close Sunday when the track presented the Super Sunday Enduro Series program to usher in the long awaited 2020 race campaign. Former Street Stock champion David Antos of Lindenhurst topped their 30-lap main event while local talent Justin Squires of Flanders notched his first career Mini Stock victory in a 30-lap contest.

Pole sitter and hear race winner Chris Lescenski moved to the early race lead in the Street Stock event with David Antos who started the race third coming to second slipping under Phil LaManna at the throw of the green. An early race caution for a three car tangle involving Rhett Fogg, Jay Henschel and David White slowed the race early. After Lescenski led the first four laps of the race David Antos flexed showed his prowess on lap 5 wrestling the lead away on lap 5. Once out front Antos was able to pull away as the race moved along as his EP Milling & Sweep Chevy performed flawlessly for the remainder of the event allowing him to secure his 5th career Street Stock victory. Despite fighting a tight race car Chris Lescenski of Riverhead crossed the line second in the Eastport Feeds Chevy while Brian McCormack of Holbrook was third in the Robo Car Wash entry. Jay Henschel of Levittown recovered to finish fourth while Greg Harris of Riverhead completed the top five.

Justin Squires was dominant all day long in his Cedar Design Honda leading every lap of competition he was salted to compete in during the day. After handily winning his heat race Squires started the opening day feature from the pole and when Bruce Noll’s green flag waved Justin wasted no time jumping to the race lead. Former champion Paul Wojcik was able to keep Squires in his sights early. Then two mid race caution flags waved back to back but again Squires was equal to the task and picked up where he left off leading the race. Over the final half of the race Justin was able to get away from all challengers and slowly built a commanding lead, one he’d enjoy all the way to victory lane. Paul Wojcik of Centereach was runner-up in his System 2000 Energy Kinetics machine while Tony Collingsworth of Calverton completed the podium in third in his Suffolk Treeworks entry. Jesse St. Clair of Lindenhurst and Johnny Cricchio of Port Jefferson rounded out the top five.

Defending Truck Enduro champion Phil LaManna of Smithtown took the lead of their 30-lap event just past the halfway signal to capture the win starting his title defense off on the right foot. Mariah Lawrence broke to the early race lead at the throw of the green with Gary Voight in tow. After chasing Lawrence for 9 laps Voight finally made his move taking the lead with an outside pass up the backstretch to move out front. However after leading just two laps Voight veered to the infield off turn two on lap 11 with a left rear flat tire moving Lawrence back out front with former champion Don Nelson Jr. now second. Heavy lapped traffic was present all race long as the class feature numerous newcomers with the leaders no matter who they were having to tiptoe through the congestion. On lap 13 LaManna who started the race 11th moved to second behind Mariah and just past the halfway mark of the race Phil put the EP Milling & Sweeping Chevy S-10 to the race lead. Once out front LaManna checked out on the filed enjoying a sizeable lead when the checkers waved. Don Nelson Jr. of Rocky Point would cross the line second in his Abner Tree Experts Chevy with Mariah Lawrence of Southampton bringing her self funded truck home an impressive third.

Sean Fitzpatrick of West Babylon took the lead on the 7th lap of the 50-lap 8-Cylinder Enduro and led the remainder of the way to collect the winners share of the purse in his Tire Express of Islip Terrace Chevy. Sean started 7th on the grid working his way towards the front before taking the lead from Steve Jones. Former champion Brian “Hot Rod” Halsey of Southampton started the race 14th and made a late race charger but time simply ran out on the driver of the PC Truck Repair Chevy and he’d settle for second. Michael Asdahl of East Meadow in his sponsor wanted Monte Carlo was third.

John Palmeri of Lindenhurst dominated the 50-lap 4/6-Cylinder Gut & Go Enduro for his first career oval victory at Riverhead Raceway. Palmeri back on September 21st of 2019 had won the National Stock Demolition Derby Championship but never a stock car event until Sunday afternoon. Palmeri wheeling the J&J Towing Acura broake to the race lead early and was never challenged for the victory during the 50-lap tilt. Brother Joey Palmeri Jr. also of Lindenhurst was runner-up while Chris Olivari of Corma was third.

Street Stocks- 1. David Antos 2. Chris Lescenski 3. Brian McCormack 4. Jay Henschel 5. Greg Harris 6. Phil LaManna 7. Gerard Lawrence 8. Sal Sinatro 9. David White 10. James Pape Jr. 11. Tom Talbot 12. James Dipietro 13. Rhett Fogg 14. Robbie Blackmore DNS- Danny Pizzo

Mini Stocks- 1. Justin Squires 2. Paul Wojcik 3. Tony Collingsworth 4. Jesse St. Clair 5. Johnny Cricchio 6. Scott Phillips 7. Jamie Meyer 8. CJ Zukowski 9. Martin O’Connell 10. Dustin Cole 11. Joe Cooke Jr. 12. Joe Warren Jr. 13. Andrew Farnham 14. Chris Elixson 15. James O’Connell 16. Matt Stawecki

Truck Enduro: 1. Phil LaManna 2. Don Nelson Jr. 3. Mariah Lawrence 4. Woot Lawrence 5. Justin McGrady 6. Joey Cassagrande 7. Doug Tittle 8. Brian Dean 9. Wayne Yarbrough 10. John Schultze 11. Danielle Cohen 12. Bryan Moore 13. Kerry Botts 14. Amber Weiss 15. Gary Voight 16. Joe Brodman 

8-Cylinder Enduro- 1. Sean Fitzpatrick 2. Brian Halsey 3. Michael Asdahl 4. Pat Collins 5. Dennis Jones 6. Carmine Deredita 7. Eric Germuth 8. Steve Jones 9. Vinny Poharski 10 Kevin Coyle 11. Preston Prydatko 12. Ricky Carman 13. Roger Tramm 14. Dwayne Sipila 15. Mike Parisi 16. Alex Decesare 17. Michael Biancos 18. Kevin Feeney 19. Stacy Halsey 20. David Verbeeck 21. Jared Halsey 22. Blake Drinkwater 23. Jennifer Hahwiaser 24. Robert Savoy

4/6-Cylinder Gut & Go Enduro- 1. John Palmeri 2. Joey Palmeri Jr. 3. Chris Olivari 4. Christian Conklin 5. Frankie Abbatiello 6. Bob Haeger 7. Donny Oliver 8. Robert Savoy 9. Phillip Libasci 10. Kevin Augustine 11. Thomas Coyle 12. Frank Raynor 13. Jason Savoy 14. Jack Tessa 15. Jeffrey Michaels 16. Vinny Abbatiello Jr. 17. Shawn Adler 18. Will Raynor 19. Kim Hyde 20. Anthony Paretta 21. David Cohen 22. Steve Collins 23. Bill Daly 24. Patrick Donlon 25. Vincent Abbatiello Sr. 26. Michael Poetzch 27. Joseph Boccia 28. Mark Raynor 29. Patrick Collins 30. David Olivari 31. Charlie Smith 32. Charles Astacio 33. Ryan Warren 34. George Astacio 35. Joseph DeSantis

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing