Matt Hirschman, Jonathan Brown And Bobby Labonte Are Guaranteed Starters For North-South Shootout

(Press release from North-South Shootout)

Three drivers have locked in guaranteed starting spots for the 19th Annual “John Blewett Memorial North-South Shootout” in Memory of Charles Kepley.

Matt Hirschman locked up his spot way back on July 24th with a win in the “SBM X 125” at star Speedway.  Hirschman led a stellar field to the line at Star.  Matt, Ryan Preece and Ron Silk also shared in $500.00 in bonus cash posted by NSS Promoter, Darren Hackett as the drivers running 1-2-3 on lap 76 of the 125 lapper. 

That bonus cash is part of $4,000.00 posted by Hackett for the drivers running in those top three spots in eight qualifying events in the north and south.  Another $2,000.00 in “Lap 76” cash is posted for the NSS with the highest running eligible drivers splitting the cash with $1,000.00 going to the top runner and $600.00 to second and $400.00 to third.

In addition to the event at Star Speedway in July, other qualifiers for the northern Modifieds include the 71st Annual “Race of Champions” at Lake Erie Speedway on September 26th, the “King of the Green” at evergreen speedway on October 17th and the “Haunted Hundred” at Seekonk Speedway on October 23rd.

In the south, Jonathan “John Boy” Brown has been on a hot streak in NSS qualifying events.  Brown sealed the deal at Bowman Gray Stadium on August 21at Bowman Gray stadium.  Brown took the win in the season ending event to claim his spot in the NSS starting lineup.  Brown, John Holleman IV and Burt Myers split the bonus cash at Bowman Gray and punched their ticket for eligibility in the NSS “Lap 76” cash.  

Brown followed his win at BGS with a win at Caraway Speedway on September 11 Night of Remembrance “Open Wheel Thunder” night.  Since Brown was already qualified for the NSS, the guaranteed spot will go to Bobby Labonte.  Labonte had already expressed some interest in running the “Shootout” and the guaranteed spot helps the team to make a final decision soon.  Brown, Labonte and Jeremy Gerstner split the “Lap 76” bonus cash at Caraway.

There are currently eight drivers eligible for the “Lap 76” bonus cash.  Hirschman, Preece and Silk from the northeast and Brown, Holleman, Burt Myers, Labonte and Gerstner from the south.

The remaining NSS qualifying events in the south are Saturday, September 18th night at Dominion Raceway in Thornburg, VA and the “SMART Chevrolet 99” on October 2nd at Motor Mile Speedway in Radford, VA.  

The 19th Annual “John Blewett Memorial North-South Shootout in Memory of Charles Kepley takes place on November 4th through the 6th at Caraway speedway near Asheboro, NC.

For more information on the event check us at or the Caraway Speedway or North-South Shootout face book pages.


  1. 6 out of the top 10 last year from the North, 3 from the south and McLaughlin winning I’m not really sure how you count him. Perhaps the Ambassador.
    You might want to consider including this race on your schedule Speed51. Keep some of us signed up into November and it is kind of a really big deal as races go.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing