Matt Hirschman Scores Victory In 20th North-South Shootout

Matt Hirschman (right) with promoter Darren Hackett (left) (Photo: Dustin Bevan)

When it comes to the history of the main event at the North-South Shootout, it’s been a who’s who of Tour Type Modified drivers to visit victory lane over the years. 

Saturday organizers of the event celebrated 20 years of running and it was the man who has made North-South Shootout victory lane his personal playground over the years celebrating once again. 

Matt Hirschman won the 125-lap Tour Type Modified feature Saturday at the North-South Shootout in Sophia, N.C. 

Hirschman took home $7,500 winner’s purse, plus the “Fan of Modified Racing
Challenge” bonus of $2,500, and $900 in lap money to bring his total to $10,900 for the day.

It was his eighth time winning the event. Over the 20 years the event has been run, no other driver besides Hirschman has won the event more than twice. 

Burt Myers was second Saturday and pole-sitter Patrick Emerling third.

Hirschman also won the event in 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2017 and 2021.

The late John Blewett III, Ryan Preece, Andy Seuss and Myers have all won the event twice. Donny Lia, Justin Bonsignore, Max McLaughlin and Jon McKennedy are single-time winners of the event. 


  1. Congrats to Big Money Matt and his team, way to represent.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing