After Four Events, Four Modified Winners This Season At Riverhead Raceway

(Press Release from Riverhead Raceway)

Four races are in the books in 2023 NASCAR Modified racing at Riverhead Raceway, four different drivers have graced victory lane at the conclusion of each 50-lap contest. Saturday another 50-lap event will roll on track during the Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series program. Will a fifth different driver score victory? Or will the first repeat winner of the season emerge? 

After Timmy Solomito of Islip took down the 2023 opening night win in his only start of the season, Jack Handley Jr. of Medford, Tom Rogers Jr. of Riverhead and Chris Young of Calverton have visited victory lane. All four would love to garner a second win. If Rogers comes away a winner, Tom and legendary “Charging” Charlie Jarzombek will be tied at the top of the all-time win list at 63. Those hoping to become the fifth different winner in as many races include, Dylan Slepian of Dix Hills Dave Brigati of Calverton, John Beatty Jr. of Merrick, JR Bertuccio of Centereach, Matt Brode of East Islip and Chris Rogers of Patchogue. 

Saturday’s 50-lap event will be the final tune-up for a busy stretch of extra distance contests for the NASCAR Modifieds that lie ahead. Saturday June 17th the troops run the first leg of the 2023 Crown Jewel Series for the Ted Christopher Cup in the Baldwin, Evans & Jarzombek 77. After a week off for the June 24th Miller Lite 200, Salute to Mike Ewantisko WMT event the weekly wars continue Saturday July 1st with the 73rd Year Celebration, tribute to “The Flying Dutchman” 73. Joanne Harbach-Kitzen and husband Alex have announced a bonus money program for the July 1st event that earns the top three an extra $900, $600 & $300 with podium style trophies honoring the late Fred Harbach. 

While the Modifieds have spread the winners circle wealth the same can’t be said for either the Late Models or INEX Legend Race Cars heading into Saturday evening. Two races into the LM campaign and Jeremy McDermott has come out on top in both over a very competitive Artie Pedersen III of Center Moriches. While Pedersen hope to flip-flop the finishing order at the end of 25-laps Saturday, McDermott seeks his 28th career LM win. Nobody hotter than “Big Money” Richie Davidowitz of East Moriches who has won four INEX Legend Race Car features in a row. After Kevin Nowak of Medford won the opening night tilt, Davidowitz has gone on a tear. Jeff Farruggia Jr. of Riverhead, Joey Braun of Manorville and Chase Van Houten of Wading River have kept pace with Richie and hope to end the win streak after 20-laps Saturday. 

The Eagle Auto Mall Crate Modifieds are ready to go to post in a 25-lap event Saturday led by defending champion Owen Grennan of Glen Cove who has won two of the four races in 2023. Among those hoping to prevent Owen from winning his third race this year are younger brother & opening night winner Chase along Kyle Ellwood of Riverhead who won over the Memorial Day weekend. The Street Stocks return to action Saturday led by defending champion Dave Antos of Lindenhurst who won on May 20th and 2021 champion and May Meltdown winner Brian Brown of Calverton. 

Reid Halpin of Wading River, who hands down scored the most popular win of 2023 to date on May 27th during the 15-lap Bock Auto Bandolero Bandit event looks for his second win in a row, while Ben Morabito of Miller Place shoots for his third win in as many starts in the Bock Auto Bandolero Outlaw feature. 

Action gets underway with qualifying Saturday at 5:30 pm, followed by opening ceremonies at approximately 6:30 pm. Spectator gates open at 4:00 pm, general admission for adults is $30, kids 6-12 $15 with 5 & under free.

The complete 2023 schedule of events can be viewed at, e-mails can be forwarded to office@riverheadraceway com while the phone number remains 631-842-RACE. 

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing