Ready To Roll: Stafford Speedway Camping World SRX Series Pre-Race Notes

Stafford Speedway is ready for the fans to roll in for tonight’s Camping World SRX Series event (Photo: Stafford Speedway)

Welcome To Stafford Speedway: The first race of the 2023 Camping World SRX Series season is at Stafford Speedway in Stafford, Connecticut on Thursday July 13. The half-mile Stafford Speedway hosted the inaugural SRX Series event on June 12, 2021. A sellout crowd watched six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby beat the superstars on his home turf in the series’ first event. SRX returned to Stafford Speedway on July 2, 2022 for another sellout event that saw Ryan Newman score his first series victory. Thursday’s season opener at Stafford is sold out. 

Stafford Field: The field for Thursday’s event at Stafford includes SRX full-time drivers Tony Stewart, Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski, Ken Schrader, Marco Andretti, Hallie Deegan, Bobby Labonte and Paul Tracy and part-time drivers Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Tony Kanaan. 

Stafford Field By The Numbers: 

Daytona 500 winners: 3 – Denny Hamlin (2016, 2019, 2020), Ryan Newman (2008), Kevin Harvick (2007). 

NASCAR Cup Series champions: 3 – Tony Stewart (2002, 2005, 2011), Kevin Harvick (2014), Brad Keselowski (2012), Bobby Labonte (2000).

NASCAR Xfinity Series champions: 4 – Kevin Harvick (2001, 2006), Brad Keselowski (2010), Clint Bowyer (2008), Bobby Labonte (1991). 

Indianpolis 500 winners: 1 – Tony Kanaan (2013) 

IndyCar Series champions: 1 – Tony Kanaan (2004) 

SRX Series event winners: 4 – Tony Stewart (4), Bobby Labonte, Marco Andretti, Ryan Newman. 

The Champion Is Back: Marco Andretti is looking to defend his 2022 Camping World SRX Series championship. Andretti is in his third full-time season with SRX. Andretti’s lone series victory came in 2021 at Slinger Speedway in Slinger, Wisconsin. Andretti had three second place finishes in six SRX starts in 2022 to edge Ryan Newman by two points in the final series standings. 

Bossman Looking For A Second Title: Tony Stewart won the inaugural Camping World SRX Series championship in 2021. Stewart had two wins, one second place and two third place finishes in 2021 to run away with the series title. Ernie Francis Jr. finished second in the standings in 2021, 45 points behind Stewart. 

Race Format: Two 12-minute heat races which will both include all 12 drivers; 100-lap feature event. 

2023 Camping World SRX Series Schedule 

July 13 – Stafford Speedway, Stafford, Connecticut (paved .5-mile)

July 20 – Thunder Road International Speedbowl, Barre, Vermont (paved .25-mile)

July 27 – Motor Mile Speedway, Fairlawn, Va. (paved .416-mile) 

Aug. 3 – Berlin Raceway, Marne, Michigan (paved .438-mile)

Aug. 10 – Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio (dirt .5-mile) 

Aug. 17 – Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Missouri (dirt .375-mile) 

Tune-In Information: All six events in 2023 will be broadcast on ESPN as part of the network’s return of Thursday Night Thunder. Each broadcast is scheduled for 9 pm EST. 


  1. Can they move the start time ahead? They can tape delay for TV. Is there a rain date?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing