Thompson Notes: Nick Johnson Gets Second Consecutive Late Model Win

Nick Johnson celebrate victory in the Late Model feature Wednesday at Thompson (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

THOMPSON – Nick Johnson went by Andrew Molleur for the lead on lap 17 and drove away to victory in the 25-lap Late Model feature Wednesday at Thompson Speedway. 

It was the second consecutive victory for Johnson, of Rehoboth, Mass. 

“The car was amazing tonight,” Johnson said. “We were just kind of in the right place at the right time. I let [Molleur and Nick Deshaies] battle and waited for my opportunity and took it. I can’t thank my crew enough.” 

After a battle for the lead for multiple laps, Molleur, of Shelton, went by Nick Deshaies for the lead on lap 15 before Johnson overtook him for the top spot two laps later. 

“Nick is really fast,” Molleur said. “Congratulations to him. [Deshaies] and I were racing hard for the lead there, kind of beating and banging and got into each other. In [turns] three and four I kind of got up into him. That’s my bad. Great race overall. … It feels good to be back on the podium. Hopefully once spot better when we come back.” 

Jake Johnson of Rehoboth, Mass. was third. 

“The Johnson family is looking good here,” Jake Johnson said. “Can’t complain. I’ve got to thank the entire Hartwell [Motorsports] crew and [team owner Jeff Hartwell] for everything they do for me. They give me the opportunity to be out here and have a blast.” 

Ryan Waterman completed his 2023 Thompson Speedway podium tour at Wednesday.

Waterman was second in the first Limited Sportsman event of the season on April 8 and finished third in the second event of the on June 22. 

Wednesday the Danielson driver topped the 20-lap Limited Sportsman feature. 

“I felt like I should have had one last race, but we got him this time,” Waterman said. 

Jason Chicolas of Sutton, Mass. was second. Corey Fanning of Mapleville, R.I., who won the first two events of the season, was third. 

Jared Roy of Sterling won the 15-lap Mini Stock feature. Kevin Moore of Moosup was second and Kyle Wing of Marshfield, Mass. third. 

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing