Pick ‘Em: Making The Calls For NAPA Spring Sizzler Weekend At Stafford 

It’s an event known as “The Greatest Race In The History Of Spring”. 

In the realm of Modified events in 2024, there are few if any other events that carry the weight and history of the NAPA Spring Sizzler at Stafford Speedway. 

On Sunday the NAPA Spring Sizzler 100 will be run for the 52nd time. 

Between purse money ($20,000 for first place), qualifying event purse payout and lap money, a winner of the event could earn close to $37,000. Last year’s winner, Ron Silk, earned just over $35,000 for his win in the event. 

So what’s the RaceDayCT crystal ball saying? Our picks are below. Drop your picks in the comments section.

Ron Silk (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

Picking The Winner: Based on his start in 2024 and recent appearances at Stafford, it’s hard not to pick Ron Silk for the victory. The reigning NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion has won two of the first three events on that series in 2024. In his last four events at Stafford Silk has a jaw dropping average finish of 1.75. In addition to his win in the 2023 Spring Sizzler, Silk also won the 2022 Monaco Modified Tri-Track Series NAPA Fall Final at Stafford. He was third in the 2022 Spring Sizzler and second in the 2023 NAPA Fall Final. 

Driver Matt Swanson (left) and team owner Gary Casella (right) (Photo: Shawn Courchesne/RaceDayCT)

Dark Horse Winner Pick: It just feels like the pairing of Matt Swanson and team owner Gary Casella is due to pull off a monster win soon. Could the Spring Sizzler be the one?

Picking The Top Five (not by finishing order)

Ron Silk

Woody Pitkat

Matt Swanson 

Noah Korner 

Marcello Rufrano 

NAPA Spring Sizzler SK Modified Winner Pick: Cory DiMatteo 

Cory DiMatteo (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

NAPA Spring Sizzler Late Model Winner Pick: Kevin Gambacorta 

Kevin Gambacorta (Photo: Shawn Courchesne/RaceDayCT)

NAPA Spring Sizzler SK Light Modified Winner Pick: Alexander Pearl 

Alexander Pearl (Photo: Courtesy Stafford Speedway)

NAPA Spring Sizzler Limited Late Model Winner Pick: Jeremy Lavoie

Jeremy Lavoie (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

NAPA Spring Sizzler Street Stock Winner Pick: Travis Hydar 

Travis Hydar (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

– Poll: Who Will Win The 2024 NAPA Spring Sizzler 100 At Stafford? –


  1. Fast Eddie says

    I’ll go with Mike Christopher Jr., Ronnie Silk, Mat Swanson, Matt Hirschman, and Woody Pitkat.

  2. I’m going with Ronnie Williams SK MCJ, LM Josh Wood, SKL Pearl, LLM Jeremy Lavoie. Top 5 Mod Williams for the win Pitkat, Silk, Hirshman and Swanson in no particular order.

  3. No Vintage Mod’s for a support division leading up to the Spring Sizzler? Why not show some heritage to the event for our younger and older patrons.

  4. Chapman will school everyone….

  5. Just realized, I posted picks to wrong thread Friday. sorry Shawn, tough week. My apologies

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing