Whelen Mod Tour Miller Lite Salutes Wayne Anderson 200 Set For Riverhead Saturday

(Press Release from Riverhead Raceway)

While many statistics are argued in racing, debate on the success of Wayne Anderson at Riverhead Raceway as a driver and car owner is not one of them. Saturday the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and Riverhead Raceway will celebrate the 30th anniversary of Wayne’s 1994 WMT championship, coupled with his many Riverhead accomplishments with the Miller Lite Salutes Wayne Anderson 200. 

In 1994 Wayne teamed up with famed car owner Lenny Boehler and after the final race was in the books the unlikely tandem captured the WMT championship. A victory at the Stafford Motor Speedway October 2nd put the team in position to claim the title. The Stafford victory was one of three Wayne enjoyed on the WMT, having posted wins at New Egypt Speedway in 1986, and his home track, Riverhead Raceway in 1993. 

When Wayne Anderson announced his retirement from racing prior to the 2023 race season, it closed the books on a career that yielded huge success on both sides of the Riverhead pit wall. While wearing a driving suit, Wayne won 32 times at Riverhead Raceway tying him with Bill Park for 6th on the track win list. Anderson is one of four drivers to have won five NASCAR Tour Type Modified championships at the track winning titles in 1982, 1987, 1988, 1990 & 1991. Only Charlie Jarzombek, Don Howe and Tom Rogers Jr. have accomplished the same.

When the 1965 Islip Speedway Rookie of the Year hung up his helmet, Wayne was nowhere near ready to drive off into the racing sunset. Wayne and his wife Joette continued to field a potent team that led them to 45 additional wins as car owners. Kyle Soper parked the Eastport Feeds Chevy in the winner’s circle 25 times, Timmy Solomito won 10 events, older brother Shawn Solomito captured 8 wins, with Donny Lia and the late Ted Christopher winning once for Team Anderson. Shawn Solomito earned Wayne his first car owners’ championship in 2016, while Kyle Soper, in dominating fashion won four championships in five years, 2018, 2019, 2021 & 2022. 

Heading to Saturday’s Miller Lite Salutes Wayne Anderson 200 defending WMT champion Ron Silk of Norwalk, Ct. and former multi time champ Justin Bonsignore of Holtsville find themselves in familiar territory atop the driver standings with Silk holding a 6-point edge. Most recent winner Jake Johnson of Rehoboth, Mass., who drives for the Boehler family sits third after his Granite Derby Cup 150 triumph at Monadnock. Craig Lutz of Miller Place, Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, NY, Austin Beers of Northampton, Pa., rookie Trevor Catalano of Ontario, NY, Kyle Bonsignore of Bay Shore, Tyler Rypkema of Owego, NY and Brian Robie of Sunapee, NH fill out the current top ten WMT drivers.

WMT on track activity commences with a 45-minute final practice from 3:30 pm to 4:15, Mayhew Tools Dominator Pole Award qualifying starts at 6:00 pm. The Miller Lite Salutes Wayne Anderson is set for an 8:00 pm green flag. 

Four Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series divisions compliment the program with the Blunderbusts, INEX Legend Race Cars, Street Stocks all set for 20-lap feature event while 15-laps will be the distance for the Eddie Partridge Vintage All Stars. 

The complete race day itinerary can be viewed at http://www.riverheadraceway.com, emails reach the track at [email protected] with 631-842-RACE the phone number, 


  1. I remember Wayne from my Islip says. A class act as a driver and someone who was easily approached in the pits. Always willing to help out!!! Well deserved honor.

  2. Douglas Corwin says

    Wayne won a 6th Owner’s Championship in 2013 when he paired Ted Christopher and Dan Jivanelli (when Teddy had Tour conflicts) as drivers.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing