Stafford Notes: Kevin Cormier Continues Parity Streak In Limited Late Model Division 

Kevin Cormier celebrates victory in the Limited Late Model feature Friday at Stafford Speedway (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

STAFFORD – A few years ago the Limited Late Model division at Stafford Speedway was struggling to get nine cars on track each week for their features. 

It’s a fact that only makes the parity being shown by the division in 2024 that much more impressive. 

Kevin Cormier won the 20-lap Limited Late Model feature Friday at Stafford Speedway. 

Cormier, of Agawam, Mass., was the ninth different winner in nine feature events for the division in 2024. 

It was the seventh career Limited Late Model victory at the track for Cormier and his first since Aug. 4 of last year. 

“No one can keep up with us on those restarts,” Cormier said. “I think we kill them every time. It’s good to be back. It’s been a little bit, but we’re back and I think we’re better than ever now. We’ve got a couple quirks to work out to get this thing even faster, but it did the job tonight so I’ll take it.” 

R.J. Surdell of Willington was second and Matthew Winter II of Springfield, Vt. third. 

Tyler Chapman of Ellington won the rain-shortened 11-lap SK Light Modified feature. The race was cut short from its normal 20-lap distance. 

“Nice to win it, but I wish we could have got the whole 20 laps in,” Chapman said. 

Chris Matthews of Stafford was second and Meghan Fuller of Auburn, Mass. third. 

Travis Hydar of Woodbury drove away from Travis Downey on a green-white-checkered finish to win the 20-lap Street Stock feature. 

“When you’re out in the lead you don’t want to see a late race yellow,” Hydar said. “I just held my own and ran my race. 

It was the sixth victory in nine starts this year for Hydar, the reigning division champion. Hydar, who became the division’s all-time winningest driver earlier this season, now has 25 career Street Stock victories. 

Downey, of Barkhamstead, was second and Jeff Asselin of Granby, Mass. third. 

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing