On Tap Presented By Ric’s Place: Icebreaker 2016 At Thompson Speedway Revs Up Season

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: Icebreaker 2016

When: Saturday – Sunday


Saturday: Practice and qualifying for all divisions. Features: 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Truck Race, 20-lap North East Street Stock Tour, 20-lap NEMA Lite and 20-lap New England Pro Four Modified. Grandstands open: 9:30 a.m.; Practice begins: 9:45 a.m.; Qualifying begins: 2:30 p.m.

Sunday: Features: 150-lap NASCAR Modified Tour, 75-lap Pro All Stars Series, 30-lap NASCAR All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Limited Sportsman and 15-lap Mini Stock. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; Features begin: 12:45 p.m.

More: The season opening event for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. … The first of four Whelen Modified Tour events at Thompson in 2016. The series will compete at state short tracks nine times as part of a 17-race schedule in 2016. The division will visit Stafford Motor Speedway four times and the New London-Waterford Speedbowl once. … Marks the 42nd overall edition of Icebreaker weekend, and the 32nd time that the Whelen Modified Tour has headlined the event. … The Icebreaker has served as the Modified Tour opener 19 times in the past 31 seasons, including every year since 2002. … Thompson Speedway hosted the first Whelen Modified Tour event on March 31, 1985. The race was won by NASCAR Hall of Famer Richie Evans. … The track has hosted the NASCAR Modified Tour a record 130 times. … Ted Christopher holds the record for Modified Tour Icebreaker victories with four. Christopher will not compete full-time with the series in 2016. It marks the first time a Whelen Modified Tour season has started without Christopher in a full-time ride since 1998. Christopher is the division’s third winningest driver all-time. … Doug Coby begins his quest to become the first driver in series history to win three consecutive Whelen Modified Tour titles. Coby won all four events at Thompson last year and is looking to become the first driver ever to win five consecutive Whelen Modified Tour events at the track. Coby won the final three events of the 2015 Whelen Modified Tour season and is looking to become the first driver to win four consecutive series events since 7-time series champion Mike Stefanik accomplished the feat in 1997. Coby is looking for his fourth Whelen Modified Tour title overall. He also won the series championship in 2012. … Sunday’s event is expected to feature six former series champions: Coby, Ryan Preece, Jamie Tomaino, Ron Silk, Donny Lia and Bobby Santos III. … For more check the Thompson Speedway website.


Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing