On Tap Tonight Presented By Ric’s Place: New England Cycle Center 161 At New London-Waterford Speedbowl

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

New London Waterford Speedbowl LogoWhere: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: New England Cycle Center 161

When: Saturday

Schedule: 161-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap Limited Sportsman and 25-lap Mini Stock. Grandstands open: 2 p.m.; Qualifying: 5:30 p.m.; Features: 7 p.m.

More: The second event of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. … With a forecast calling for evening showers, track officials have modified their original schedule and will green flag the Whelen Modified Tour feature at 7 p.m., with the four other weekly division features to run following the New England Cycle Center 161. … The third event of the season for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. … The only visit to the Speedbowl in 2016 for the Whelen Modified Tour. … The New England Cycle 161 marks the third of nine Whelen Modified Tour events at state short tracks this season. The Whelen Modified Tour season opened on April 10 with the Icebreaker 150 at Thompson Speedway, won by Timmy Solomito. Two-time defending series champion Doug Coby won the NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 at Stafford on April 24. … The division visits each Stafford and Thompson three more times this year. … Coby leads Solomito by one point in the standings. Justin Bonsignore is six points behind Coby in third and Rowan Pennink is fourth in the standings, 12 points off the lead. Chase Dowling sits fifth in the standings, 19 points behind Coby. … There have been 16 different race winners in 21 all-time Whelen Modified Tour events at the Speedbowl. Five active drivers have won at the track: Donny Lia (2005, 2006), Ryan Preece (2013, 2015) Ted Christopher (2002), Doug Coby (2012) and Bobby Santos (2014). Preece will be competing in the NASCAR XFINITY Series race in Dover, Del. Saturday and will not compete at Waterford. … Three-time defending SK Modified division champion Keith Rocco opened the season with victory in Sunday’s Bud Blastoff at Waterford. Rocco is looking for his sixth SK Modified division championship in the last seven years at the track in 2016. … Rocco also won the Late Model feature at the Bud Blastoff. … Reigning Limited Sportsman champion Al Stone III opened the 2016 season with victory in the division at the Bud Blastoff. … Wayne Burroughs Jr. began defense of his first Mini Stock championship at Waterford with a victory in the season opening event. … The SK Light Modified division will not be in competition Saturday at Waterford. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.


On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing