On Tap Presented By Ric’s Place: Mod Tour To Stafford; NEMA & Mini Stock Tour To Waterford

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen All-American Series weekly card

When: Friday

Schedule: 125-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Late Model and 15-lap DARE Stock. Grandstands open: 4:15 p.m; Qualifying: 6 p.m; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

More: The fourth event of the season at Stafford. … The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour makes its second of four appearances this year at Stafford. … The fourth of 17 points events on the Whelen Modified Tour schedule this year. … Doug Coby won the Whelen Modified Tour NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 on April 24 at Stafford. … Marks the fourth of nine Whelen Modified Tour events at Connecticut short tracks this season. Timmy Solomito won the season opening Icebreaker 150 on April 10 at Thompson Speedway. Ron Silk won the New England Cycle Center 161 on May 14 at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. In addition to the three events remaining at Stafford, the division will make three more appearances this year at Thompson. … Ryan Preece, the winner of the event last year, is not on the entry list. He is competing with the NASCAR XFINITY Series this weekend at Pocono Raceway in Long Pond, Pa. … Coby, the two-time defending series champion, leads the points standings by eight over Solomito, Max Zachem is third in the standings, 15 behind Coby. … Woody Pitkat won last week’s SK Modified feature at Stafford. … Reigning division champion Rowan Pennink won the first two SK Modified features of the season. … Pennink leads the standings by six points over second place Ted Christopher. Keith Rocco is third in the standings, 16 points off the lead. Pitkat and Ronnie Williams are tied for fourth, 26 points behind Pennink. … Pitkat also on the Late Model feature last week as a fill-in for Michael Bennett, who was serving a track suspension. … Bennett and Fearn are the other Late Model division winners this season. … Fearn holds an eight point lead over second place Michael Wray in the Late Model standings with Jim Mavlouganes in third, 12 points off the lead. … Daniel Wesson won last week’s SK Light Modified feature. … Tony Membrino Jr. won the first two events of the season. … Membrino leads second place Joey Ferrigno by two points in the division standings. Jay Goff is 20 points off the lead in third. … Paul Arute goes looking for his third consecutive Limited Late Model feature win Friday. … Albert Saunders, who won the season opening race, is the only other winner in the division this year. … Duane Provost leads Saunders by 4 points in the division’s standings. Arute is 14 points off the lead in third. … Johnny Walker picked up his first win of the season in the DARE Stock feature last week. Alexandra Fearn and Tyler Trott have the other two DARE Stock wins this year. … Trace Beyer leads Walker by two points in the DARE Stock standings. Trott is third, four points off the lead. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.

New London Waterford Speedbowl LogoWhere: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, NEMA Midgets and North East Mini Stock Tour

When: Saturday

Schedule: 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap Limited Sportsman, 25-lap SK Light Modified, 25-lap NEMA Midgets and 25-lap Pro Four Modified. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 4:15 p.m.; Features: 6:30 p.m.

More: The fifth event of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. …The North East Mini Stock Tour and Northeastern Midget Association make their first appearances of the season at the Speedbowl. … Tyler Chadwick got his first victory of the season in last week’s SK Modified feature, becoming the fourth different winner in four events this year. Keith Rocco, Diego Monahan and Dylan Izzo also have victories this year. … Seven drivers are separated by 14 points at the top of the SK Modified division standings. Ted Christopher leads by four points over Dennis Perry. Joey Gada is seven points off the lead in third. Rocco is fourth, 11 points behind, and Rob Janovic Jr. is fifth, 12 off the lead. Chadwick is sixth (13 behind Christopher) and Izzo seventh (14 behind Christopher). … Bruce Thomas Jr. got his first win of the season in the Late Model division last week. Rocco and Ray Christian III have won the other two Late Model events this year. … Reigning Late Model division champion Jason Palmer and Rocco are tied for the lead in the standings. Thomas is two points off the lead in third and Anthony Flannery is fourth, five points behind. … Monte Gibbs, who got his first career Limited Sportsman win in the division’s last event on May 21, leads the standings by two points over reigning division champion Al Stone III.  … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.


On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015


  1. Speedbowl looks great. A couple polls I’d like to see though is, 1: do people like having special events every week with very few regular priced shows? 2 : what does everyone think about the short season this year? I understand starting in May with all the construction. But I’m a bit surprised that the last Saturday night show is in the middle of September. And then like a month till the bemers show.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing