On Tap Presented By Ric’s Place: Whelen Modified Tour Back To Thompson Speedway

On Tap: Presented By Ric’s Place

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series Racing card

When: Wednesday (Inclement weather make up date, Thursday)

Schedule: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 25-lap Northeastern Midget Association, 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Limited Sportsman and 15-lap Mini Stock. Grandstands open: 3:30 p.m; Qualifying: 5 p.m. (Whelen Modified Tour qualifying 7 p.m.; Features: Approximately 6:15 p.m.

More: The seventh event of the season at Thompson Speedway. … Thompson Speedway welcomes the Whelen Modified Tour for the third of four events for series at the track this year. … Timmy Solomito won the Whelen Modified Tour season opening Icebreaker 150 at the track on April 10. Bobby Santos III won the Thompson 125 on June 15. … The Whelen Modified Tour closes its season on October 16 at the track with the running of the Sunoco World Series 150. … The ninth of 17 Whelen Modified Tour events this year. … Marks the seventh of nine Whelen Modified Tour events this year at Connecticut short tracks. The series has visited Stafford Motor Speedway three times with Doug Coby winning the first two events (April 24, June 3) and Jimmy Blewett winning last Friday’s Stafford 150. The series made its lone visit of 2016 to the New London-Waterford Speedbowl on May 14 with Ron Silk winning that event. The series returns to Stafford on Oct. 2 for the NAPA Fall Final 150. … Coby, who has won the last two series titles and three in the past four years, leads the Whelen Modified Tour standings by 20 points over second place Justin Bonsignore. Solomito is third in the standings, 24 points behind Coby. Blewett (35 behind Coby) and Donny Lia (36 behind Coby) round out the top-five in the standings. … Coby and Solomito are the only multi-time winners this year in Whelen Modified Tour action, with three wins each. … Keith Rocco and Ryan Preece got victories in SK Modified action at Thompson’s last event on July 27. … Rocco has won five of the six SK Modified features at the track this year. … Rocco leads Preece by 25 points in the standings with Ronnie Williams in third, 37 points off the lead. … Matt Lowinski-Loh got his first Late Model victory at the track on July 27. Lloyd Anderson Jr. took the checkered for the race but was later disqualified from the victory. … Other winners in the division this year include William Wall (three wins), Rick Gentes, Larry Gelinas and Paul Charette. … Wall leads second place Gentes by seven points in the division standings. Marc Curtis is third, 38 points off the lead. … Jesse Gleason won the last Limited Sportsman event at the track. … Other winners this year in the division are Josh Wood (two wins), Corey Hutchings, Phil Jacques and Brent Gleason. … Ryan Waterman leads second place Scott Sundeen by eight points in the Limited Sportsman standings with Brent Gleason in third, 46 points behind Waterman. … Dave Trudeau got his fourth victory of the season in the Mini Stock division on July 27. … Other winners this year include Brad Caddick and Wayne Burroughs Jr. … Burroughs leads second place Trudeau by five points in the Mini Stock standings. Caddick and Ed Field are tied for third, 43 points off the lead. … For more check the Thompson Speedway website.

On Tap Presented By Rics Place Banner 2015

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing