On Tap Presented By The Hidden Still: MTS Returns To Stafford; Speedbowl Back In Action

On Tap: Presented by The Hidden Still

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What: Exit Realty Modified Tour Series and Whelen All-American Series Racing card

When: Friday

Schedule: 100-lap Exit Realty Modified Tour Series, 40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Late Model and 15-lap DARE Stock. Grandstands open: 5:15 p.m; Qualifying: 6:30 p.m; Features: 7 p.m.

More: The eighth event of the season at Stafford. … The first year Exit Realty Modified Touring Series makes it second appearance of the season at Stafford Speedway. Jon McKennedy won in the first event at the track for the series on June 2. … Last week’s racing card at Stafford was rained out. It was the fifth rain out of the season at the track. … In the last event at the track on July 7, Chase Dowling scored victory in the fourth NAPA SK 5K. It was the third victory in seven events this year for Dowling. … Ted Christopher (two wins), Ronnie Williams and Matt Galko are the other winners this year in the division. … Keith Rocco leads the SK Modified division standings with Dowling in second, 16 points off the lead. Williams sits third in the standings, 18 points behind Rocco. … On July 7 Michael Bennett got his second win of the season in the Late Model feature. Other winners in the division this year include Glen Reen, Michael Wray, Tom Fearn, Kevin Gambacorta and Josh Wood. … Reen leads the division standings by four points over second place Wray. Gambacorta and Fearn are tied for third, eight points behind Reen. … On July 7 Wesley Prucker got his first career win in the SK Light Modified feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Cory DiMatteo (three wins), Joey Ferrigno, George Nocera Jr. and Brett Gonyaw. … Nocera holds a 22-point lead over second place Prucker in the standings. Dan Wesson is third, 32 points off the lead. … On July 7 RJ Surdell got his first career victory in the Limited Late Model feature. … Other Limited Late Model winners this year include Duane Provost (two), Albert Saunders, Jeremy Lavoie, Bryan Narducci and Cliff Saunders. … Lavoie leads second place Provost by six points in the division standings. Narducci is third, 22 points behind Lavoie. … Vince Gambacorta got his first win of the season in the July 7 DARE Stock feature. … Other DARE Stock winners this year include Zack Robinson (two),  Johnny Walker (two wins), Tyler Trott and Travis Hydar. … Robinson holds a 12-point lead over second place Walker in the division standings with George Bessette Jr. in third, 44 points behind Robinson. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.


New London Waterford Speedbowl LogoWhere: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: Weekly Racing Card

When: Saturday

Schedule: 35-lap SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 25-lap SK Light Modifieds, 25-lap Limited Sportsman and 25-lap Mini Stock. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 5 p.m.; Features: 7 p.m.

More: The fourth event of the season at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl. … Last week, Keith Rocco got his second victory of the season in the SK Modified feature. … Todd Owen is the other winner in the division this year. … Rocco holds a six-point lead over Owen in the division standings. Kyle James is third in the standings, seven points behind Rocco. … Anthony Flannery was victorious in last week’s Late Model feature. Rocco and Ray Christian III are the other winners in the division this year. … Rocco holds a 26-point lead over second place Christian in the division standings. Flannery is third, 34 points behind Rocco. … Dana DiMatteo got the first SK Light Modified win of his career last week at Waterford. … Other winners this year in the division include Brett Gonyaw and Dennis Charette. … John O’Sullivan leads the division standings by six points over second place Glenn Griswold. Chris Gombos is third, 16 points off the lead. … Monte Gibbs got his first win of the season in the Limited Sportsman feature last week. … Al Stone III and Jordan Hadley are the other winners in the division this year. … Stone leads second place Chris Meyer by two points in the standings. Norm Root Jr. is third, seven points off the lead. … Jacob Perry got his first victory of the season in last week’s Mini Stock feature. … Wayne Burroughs Jr. and Hadley are the other winners this year. … Burroughs holds a one-point lead over Sean Caron in the division standings. Charles Canfield and Ken Cassidy Jr. are tied for third, two points behind Burroughs and Perry is fifth, seven points off the lead. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.


  1. Well I guess we can say the doubt about the Speedbowl progressing with their season is over. Solid car counts, weak in some divisions and strong in others. But over all a lot of cars in the pits from all those divisions. Crowds seem to be pretty typical for even a non controversial season. Good for the shoreline fans and good for the guy that took the risk and made it happen under dire circumstances.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing