On Tap Presented By The Hidden Still: The World Series Of Speedway Racing At Thompson

On Tap: Presented by The Hidden Still


Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: Sunoco World Series of Speedway Racing

When: Friday – Sunday


Friday: 60-lap Granite State Pro Stock Series, 25-lap Late Model and 20-lap SK Light Modified. Grandstands open: 2 p.m.; Qualifying: 5 p.m.; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

Saturday: Qualifying for the Whelen Modified Tour, 50-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series, 75-lap American-Canadian Tour, 25-lap NEMA Midget, 20-lap Street Stock, 15-lap Mini Stock, 20-lap North East Mini Stock Tour, 22-lap Pro Four Modified and 35-lap Mr. Rooter Pro Truck Series. Grandstands open: 9:30 a.m.; Qualifying: 2:20 p.m.; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

Sunday: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 50-lap ISMA SuperModified 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 20-lap Limited Sportsman, 20-lap NEMA Lite. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; Features: 12:35 p.m.

More: The seventh and final event of the season at Thompson Speedway. … The 55th running of the World Series of Speedway Racing at Thompson. … The Whelen Modified Tour closes its season at Thompson with six drivers mathematically eligible for the championship. … Series points leader Doug Coby is looking for his unprecedented fourth consecutive series title and fifth championship overall. Coby became the first driver since the series’ inception in 1985 to win three consecutive titles last year. Coby also won the series championship in 2012. Justin Bonsignore sits second in the standings, 10 points behind Coby. Timmy Solomito is third in the standings, 12 points off the lead. Ryan Preece, despite missing two events this season, is 19 points behind Coby in fourth. Eric Goodale is fifth in the standings (25 points off the lead) and Rowan Pennink sixth (33 points off the lead). Preece is the only other driver in the group of six who has won a series title, accomplishing the feat in 2013. … Marks the 16th points event this season for the Whelen Modified Tour and fourth this year at Thompson Speedway. Pennink won the Icebreaker 150 on April 9. Preece won the Thompson 125 on June 14 and Budweiser 150 on Aug. 9. … Sunday’s event for the series marks the 138th Whelen Modified Tour race at the track since 1985. No other track has hosted more events for the series. … In the last event at Thompson on Sept. 10, Ted Christopher and Keith Rocco scored SK Modified division feature victories. Todd Owen was awarded the overall victory of the track’s 20/20 Sprint former at the event. It was the third victory of the season for Rocco. It was the first victory of the season for Christopher and his 99th victory overall at the track. It would prove to be final victory of his legendary career. Christopher was killed in a plane crash six days later on Sept. 16 while flying to a Whelen Modified Tour event at Riverhead (N.Y.) Raceway. … Other SK Modified division feature winner this year include Owen, Preece and Troy Talman. … Rocco holds a 12-point lead over Owen going into the final event of the season. Preece is third, 20 points behind Rocco and Woody Pitkat fourth, 24 points off the lead. … In the last Late Model feature at the track, Ryan Morgan got his first win of the season. … Other Late Model winners this year include Ray Parent (two wins), Rick Gentes, Matt Lowinski-Loh and Pitkat. … Parents hold a 21-point lead over William Wall in the Late Model standings … Scott Sundeen got his first win of the season in the last Limited Sportsman event at the track. … Other winners in the division this year include Brent Gleason (two wins), Jesse Gleason, Larry Barnett and Ryan Waterman. … Shawn Monahan holds a 29-point lead over second place Sundeen in the division standings. … Dave Trudeau got his second win of the season in the last Mini Stock feature at Thompson. … Other Mini Stock winners this year include Wayne Burroughs Jr. (three wins) and Eric Bourgeois. … Burroughs holds a 25-point lead over second place Bourgeois in the standings. … For more information check the Thompson Speedway website.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing