On Tap Presented By Four Seasons By The Lake: State Weekend Racing Action

SMS Logo 2015Where: Stafford Motor Speedway

What:  Fifth NAPA SK 5K and NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing card

When: Friday

Schedule: 100-lap SK 5K NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 30-lap Late Model, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 20-lap Limited Late Model and 20-lap Street Stock. Grandstands open: 5:15 p.m; Qualifying: 6:15 p.m; Features: 7:15 p.m.

More: The 10th event of the season at Stafford. … The SK 5K pays a guaranteed $5,000 to win and includes nearly $35,000 in total posted purse and awards for the event. … Four different drivers have won the SK 5K since it inception in 2014. Chase Dowling is the defending champion of the SK 5K. The late Ted Christopher won the event in 2016. Ryan Preece was the event winner in 2015. Rowan Pennink won the inaugural SK 5K in 2014. … Last week at Stafford Joey Cipriano III scored his first career SK Modified victory at Stafford Motor Speedway. … Other SK Modified division winner this year include Keith Rocco (four), Mike Christopher Jr., Rowan Pennink, Chase Dowling and Ronnie Williams. … Rocco leads second place Williams by 30 points. Michael Gervais Jr. is third in the standings, 66 points off the lead. … Last week, Tom Fearn extended his Late Model division consecutive victories streak by winning his sixth consecutive event. Before June 15, Fearn been tied for the record of four consecutive with John Leger, who accomplished the feat in 1992. Fearn had streaks of four consecutive in 2015, 2016 and this year before extending his streak to five to on June 15 and then to six on June 22. Fearn will attempt to match the track’s overall consecutive wins streak Friday. That mark was first set by Tom Rosati in the former Late Model Sportsman division in 1977 and tied by Geoff Bodine in the former Modified division in 1978. Stafford Speedway general manager Mark Arute has offered a $500 bonus “Bounty” to any driver this week that can stop Fearn’s streak. … Other Late Model winners this year include Glen Reen, Michael Wray and Darrell Keane. … Fearn leads the standings by 34 points over second place Tyler Leary by 38 points. Michael Wray is third, 46 points behind Fearn. … Marcello Rufrano got his fourth victory of the season in last week’s SK Light Modified feature. … Other SK Light Modified winners this year include Bryan Narducci (two), Andrew Molleur (two) and George Nocera Jr. … Marcello leads the standings by 28 points over second place Narducci. Nocera and Molleur are tied for third, 32 points off the lead. … Ryan Fearn got his third victory of 2018 in last week’s Limited Late Model feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Jeremy Lavoie (four), Duane Provost and Justin Bren. … Fearn leads second place R.J. Surdell by 10 points in the Limited Late Model division standings with Lavoie in third, 12 points off the lead. … Brandon Michael got his second win of the year in last week’s Street Stock feature. …Other Street Stock winners this year include Johnny Walker (three wins), Trace Beyer, Meghan Fuller, Mike Hopkins and George Bessette Jr. … Fuller leads the Street Stock standings by two points over Michael. Nicole Chambrello is second in the standings, 24 points behind Fuller. … For more information visit the Stafford Motor Speedway website.


Where: New London-Waterford Speedbowl

What: Weekly Racing Card

When: Saturday

Schedule: 80-lap SK Modified, 25-lap SK Light Modified, 30-lap Sportsman, 25-lap Mini Stock, 35-lap Legends and 25-lap Trucks. Grandstands open: 3 p.m.; Qualifying: 4:45 p.m. Features: Immediately following qualifying.

More: The sixth event of the season at the Speedbowl. Last week’s event was rained out. … Track officials will make their fourth attempt to run the 80-lap SK Modified event that was part of the opening weekend schedule. The event, which will pay a winner’s purse of just over $4,000, was originally scheduled to be run May 6 but was rained out and was subsequently rained out again on May 12 and May 19. … In the last event at the track on June 16, Todd Owen got his first victory of the season in the SK Modified division. … Kyle James has won the other two SK Modified events this season. … Dylan Izzo holds a one point lead over James in the SK Modified standings with Owen in third, three points off the lead. Rob Janovic Jr. is fourth, four points off the lead. … Jon Porter got his second win of the season in the last Sportsman feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Shawn Gaedeke (two), Jordan Hadley and Ryan Waterman. … Gaedeke leads the division by two points over Porter. Norman and Hadley are tied for third, 15 points off the lead. … Charles Canfield got his first win of the season in the most previous Mini Stock feature. … Other Mini Stock winners this year include Doug Curry, Nathan Taylor and Nick Pappacoda. … Curry leads the standings by eight points over Pappacoda. Andrew Krezeminski and Sean Caron are tied for third, 15 points behind Curry. … For more information check the New London-Waterford Speedbowl website.


Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing