On Tap Presented By Four Seasons By The Lake: Whelen Mod Tour Returns To Thompson For Bud 150

Thompson Logo 2016 300x250Where: Thompson Speedway

What: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and Whelen All-American Series racing card

When: Wednesday

Schedule: 150-lap NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Limited Sportsman, 15-lap Mini Stock and 25-lap NEMA Midget. Grandst 6:15 p.m.

More: The fifth event of the season at Thompson Speedway. … The Bud King Of Beers 150 is the third of four Whelen Modified Tour events this season at Thompson Speedway. Series points leader Justin Bonsignore won the Icebreaker 150 on April 8 at Thompson and the Thompson 125 on June 14. … The Whelen Modified Tour hosts its season ending event, the Sunoco World Series 150, on Oct. 14. … The 10th of 16 Whelen Modified Tour events this season. The division visits Connecticut seven times with three events scheduled at Stafford Motor Speedway. … Bonsignore has won four events this year. He also won at Seekonk Speedway (June 2) and Riverhead Raceway (July 7). … Doug Coby, who has won the last four series titles and five championships overall, got his first win of the season last Friday at Stafford. … Ryan Preece, who is competing part-time this year on the Modified Tour, has wins at Stafford (April 29) and Langley Speedway (June 23). Jon McKennedy (March 17 at Myrtle Beach Speedway) and Bobby Santos III (July 21 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway) are the other series winners this year. … Bonsignore holds a 51-point lead over second place Chase Dowling in the Whelen Modified Tour standings. Timmy Solomito sit third in the standings, 64 points behind Bonsignore. Craig Lutz (81 points behind) and Rowan Pennink (83 points behind) round out the top-five in the standings. Coby sits sixth, 93 points behind Bonsignore. … Coby is currently the only driver in the top-10 in the series standings to have previously won a series title. … Seven of Bonsignore’s 16 career victories have come at Thompson Speedway, which leads all active drivers. … Coby has five career victories at Thompson. … In the last event at Thompson on July 14, Preece got his first victory of the season in the SK Modified division. … Keith Rocco has won the other SK Modified events this year at Thompson. … Rocco leads second place Troy Talman by 28 points in the SK Modified division standings with Todd Owen in third, 41 behind Rocco. … Ryan Morgan got his second win of the season in the last Late Model event at Thompson. … Other Late Model winners this year include Mark Jenison and William Wall. … Nick Johnson holds a 17-point lead over second place Jenison in the Late Model division standings. Wall is third, 20 points behind Johnson. … Shawn Monahan got his second win of the season in the last Limited Sportsman feature at Thompson. … Monahan leads the division standings by 27 points over Chris Meyer. Brent Gleason is third, 37 points behind Monahan. … Wayne Burroughs Jr. got his second win of 2018 in the last Mini Stock feature. … Eric Bourgeois has won the other two Mini Stock features this year. … Bourgeois leads second place Jared Roy by 26 points in the Mini Stock standings. Dave Trudeau is third, 36 points off the lead. … For more information check the Thompson Speedway website.


  1. Great lineup.

    We need some luck with the weather.

  2. Camerissa says

    Of all those stats I thought the most interesting one is that Coby is the only driver currently in the top ten who has won a championship. I wonder if this has ever occurred before.

  3. Camerissa,
    It is an interesting stat. The last eight titles have been won by currently active drivers, with five by Coby, but the other three by now part-time drivers. Ryan Preece in 2013, Ron Silk in 2011 and Bobby Santos III in 2010.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing