Whelen Modified Tour Pit Box: Field Targeting Justin Bonsignore At Oswego

(Press Release from NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications)

Whelen Modified Tour points leader Justin Bonsignore (right) with his crew chief Ryan Stone (Photo: Fran Lawlor/RaceDayCT)

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will kick-off the busiest month of the 2018 season on Saturday night with a trip to Oswego Speedway in New York. The Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s at the historic ‘Steel Palace’ marks the third straight season that the series visits Oswego and it comes in a crucial stretch as the championship battles starts to wind down.



Justin Bonsignore’s roll moves into his home state of New York next — a place where he is already a winner this season. But, the steel confines of Oswego will provide the Kenneth Massa Motorsports team a completely new task — and it’s not going to be easy to seal the deal at this track.

Oswego Mod Classic 1In 300 laps over the last two years at Oswego, the Holtsville, New York, driver has failed to lead a lap — but does have two top-10 finishes, including a third-place effort in 2016. Bonsignore’s consistency at Oswego could suit him well, and if he can leave the Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s without a problem, he will likely be well on his way to his first championship.

Ryan Preece returns to NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour competition with a vengeance, looking to take Bonsignore down. Preece already has two victories this season (Stafford and Langley), and is also the defending winner at Oswego. He led 33 laps after starting from fourth and found his way into Victory Lane in his first attempt at the 0.625-mile oval in 2017. Matt Hirschman also returns to Oswego after leading 117 laps in the most recent edition of the event.

Chase Dowling will also plan to begin his climb towards Bonsignore in the championship standings with only five races remaining, since he enters 64-points back of the championship leader. Even though he has finished second four separate times this year, the Roxbury, Connecticut, driver is still looking for his first career win.


PLACE Oswego Speedway, Oswego, New York
DATE Saturday, September 1
TIME 7 p.m. ET
TELEVISION NBCSN, Thursday, September 6, 6 p.m.
TRACK LAYOUT 0.625-mile paved asphalt oval
2017 WINNER Ryan Preece
2017 POLE Matt Hirschman
EVENT SCHEDULE Saturday: Garage Opens: 10:45 a.m., First Practice: 1:35-2:10 p.m., Final Practice: 2:50-3:25 p.m., Qualifying: 5 p.m., Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s: 7 p.m.
TWITTER @OswegoSpeedway
HASHTAG #NWMT, #BudClassicWeekend, #ModClassic150

CREW CHIEF HANDOUT: The maximum starting field is 28 cars, including provisional positions.

The first 22 cars will secure starting spots based on the group qualifying session for the Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s. The remaining six spots would be awarded through the provisional process.

NASCAR group qualifying is in place for this event. The qualifying order will be determined by each vehicle’s fastest single lap from the official practice session(s). Each qualifying group will be five (5) minutes in duration and the fastest single lap speed of each vehicle will determine starting positions 1st through 22nd. Adjustments or repairs may not be made on a vehicle after the vehicle enters the track to begin the qualifying session. Vehicles may not return to the track or make any further qualifying laps unless directed to do so by a NASCAR Official or in the event of a caution. Once a vehicle’s attempt is complete, the vehicle must proceed directly to the designated impound area. Vehicles will proceed immediately to impound after making their qualifying attempt. Vehicles will be impounded after qualifying, and must qualify on their race setup.

The Toyota Mod Classic 150 presented by McDonald’s will be 150 laps (93.75 miles).

The maximum tire allotment available for this event is eleven (11) tires per team. Four (4) tires used for qualifying must be used to begin the race. The tire change rule is four (4) tires, any position.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing