Randy Cabral Sweeps NEMA’s Angelillo Memorial Events At New London-Waterford Speedbowl

(Press Release from Northeastern Midget Association)

Podium finishers John Zych (left), Randy Cabral (center) and Avery Stoeher (right) after Saturday’s NEMA Midget finish at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl (Photo: John DaDalt/Northeastern Midget Association)

Six time NEMA champion Randy Cabral took the lead from Bertrand Motorsports teammate Avery Stoehr on a lap ten restart, to dominate the NEMA portion of this past Saturday’s Angelillo Memorial at the New London Waterford Speedbowl. In the Lites division, Cabral drove the Frank Manafort/FMR Racing #76 to an equally dominating event win. Cabral’s NEMA win marked another historical mile marker for the Plymouth, MA native, as he is now the all time winner at the Speedbowl, at nine wins.

The night commemorated NEMA’s most successful car owners in the history of the club, Marilyn and Gene Angelillo. In addition to 14 championships, Gene and Marilyn claimed well over 100 features including 14 at the Waterford Speedbowl. They also served the club in many positions. Gene was president and Marilyn secretary for several seasons.
The Angelillo’s first Waterford win came with Drew Fornoro aboard in 1982. Over the next 30-plus summers, Russ Stoehr and Joey Payne joined Fornoro winning at Waterford in Angelillo equipment. The versatile Ted Christopher’s only Midget win came at Waterford on May 24, 1998 in an Angelillo car.

Gene’s final win was Waterford’s 2009 Wings and Wheels. Russ Stoehr was the driver.

When the green flag flew for the NEMA feature, Doug Cleveland and Alan Chambers raced the field down into turn one. Sixth place starter, Avery Stoehr, in the Bertrand Motorsports #39 was on the move, as he rocketed around the outside of the field, and found himself in the lead on lap three. Further back, eighth place starter, Cabral, was working his way around the outside as well, and would find himself running second by the fifth circuit.

A red flag on lap ten halted the field, as contact between Todd Bertrand and Doug Cleveland sent a number of cars spinning, and Paul Scally onto his side. Repairs on the Keith Rocco #1 machine were completed in the infield, as he was able to continue after damaging the nose of his vehicle.

When the green flew, Cabral rocketed by Stoehr into the lead and began to set a lightening fast pace, running laps in the 12.9 second range. Cabral would stretch out his lead, and take down the victory over Stoehr, who would come out on top of John Zych for third. Todd Bertrand was fourth, Jim Chambers fifth, Keith Rocco sixth, followed by Dan Cugini, Andy Lunt, Lanson Fornoro, and Alan Chambers.

In the Lites race, the story was much the same. At the drop of the green, Cabral, driving the FMR Racing #76, prepared by Matt Seymour, would drive to the front from his fourth starting spot.

Cabral would battle with Matt Janisch briefly for the top spot, before taking off in the lead. Behind him, Janisch comfortably settled into the second spot, and further back, Richie Coy was blasting through the field from his tenth starting spot.

When the checkered flag flew, Cabral would go on to take down the victory, followed by Janisch, Coy, Meg Cugini – who was later DQ’d due to a wing angle infraction issue, Dan Cugini, Seth Carlson, Ben Mikitarian, Kevin Iannarelli, Ryan Locke and Jake Trainor.

NEMA and the Lites are on the card this weekend at the Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park World Series of Racing.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing