On Tap Presented By Four Seasons By The Lake: Sunoco World Series At Thompson Speedway

Where: Thompson Speedway

What: Sunoco World Series

When: Friday – Sunday


Friday: 50-lap Granite State Pro Stock Series, 25-lap Late Model, 20-lap Open Vintage Modified, 15-lap Senior Tour Modifieds and 15-lap Senior Tour Sportsman. Grandstands open: 2 p.m.; Qualifying: 4:30 p.m; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

Saturday: 75-lap American-Canadian Tour, 50-lap Valenti Modified Racing Series, 20-lap SK Light Modified, 15-lap Mini Stock, 25-lap NEMA Midget, 22-lap Pro Four Modified, 35-lap Truck Series, 20-lap North East Mini Stock Tour, 20-lap Street Stock Showdown and 25-lap NHSTRA Late Model Sportsman. Grandstands open: 9:30 a.m.; Qualifying: 1:30 p.m; Features: Immediately following qualifying.

Sunday: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Sunoco World Series 150, 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified, 20-lap Limited Sportsman, 50-lap ISMA SuperModifieds and 20-lap NEMA Lites. Grandstands open: 10 a.m.; Features: 12:30 p.m.

More: The 10th and final event of the season at Thompson Speedway. … The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour makes its fourth visit to Thompson Speedway in 2019 for its season ending event. … Sunday’s event marks the 146th Whelen Modified Tour event at Thompson since 1985. … Reigning series champion Justin Bonsignore won the Icebreaker 150 on April 7 and the Thompson 125 on June 5. Five-time series champion and current series points leader Doug Coby won the Budweiser King of Beers 150 on Aug. 14. … Prior to Coby’s win in August, Bonsignore had won the previous seven series events at Thompson. … The late Mike Stefanik leads the division’s all-time win list at Thompson with 15 career victories. The late Ted Christopher is second on the series win list with 13 victories. … Bonsignore is third all-time and leads active drivers with 11 career victories at Thompson. Coby sits second on the active win list with six victories at Thompson. … Bobby Santos III (five wins), Ron Silk (four wins), Timmy Solomito (two wins) and Jimmy Blewett (one win) are the only other active series regulars with victories at Thompson. … Chuck Hossfeld, who will fill in for the injured Blewett on Sunday, has one win at Thompson. … Coby holds a 19-point lead over second place Bonsignore in the series standings. Coby needs to finish 14th or better Sunday to clinch his sixth series title in the last eight seasons. He could become the second driver in series history with six or more series titles. Stefanik has a record seven series championships. Coby and Tony Hirschman are tied for second all-time with five championships. No other driver has more than two series titles. … Ronnie Williams got his second and third victories SK Modified division victories in 2019 in the last event at Thompson on Sept. 8. … Other SK Modified division winners this year include Keith Rocco (three wins), Woody Pitkat (two wins), Ryan Preece and Mike Christopher Jr. … Rocco holds a 40-point lead over second place Pitkat in the SK Modified standings. Rocco is looking to capture his eighth SK Modified championship at Thompson. … Mark Jenison got his first win of the season in the last Late Model event on Sept. 8. … Other Late Model winners this year include Pitkat (three wins), Brian Tagg, William Wall, Tom Carey III and Ryan Morgan. … Pitkat holds a five-point lead over second place Wall in the Late Model standings with Derek Gluchaki in third place, 20 points off the lead. … Brian Sullivan got his first win of the season in the last SK Light Modified feature. … Other winners this year in the division include Bryan Narducci (six wins), Teddy Hodgdon IV and John O’Sullivan. … Narducci has already clinched the division championship. … Reigning division champion Shawn Monahan got his fourth win of the season in the last Limited Sportsman feature. … Other division winners this year include Ryan Waterman (two wins), Chris Douton, Brent Gleason and Corey Fanning. … Kyle Gero holds a 10-point lead over second place Monahan in the Limited Sportsman standings. Meghan Fuller sits third in the standings, 16 points behind Gero. Monahan is chasing his third consecutive division title. … Dave Trudeau Sr. got his first win of the season in the most recent Mini Stock feature. … Other winners in the division this year include Doug Curry (two wins), Charles Canfield (two wins), Tommy Silva, Steve Michalski, Scott Michalski and Jared Roy. … Scott Michalski leads the division standings by one point over Curry with Steve Michalski in third, three points off the lead. … For more information check the Thompson Speedway website.

Do you enjoy what you’re reading and seeing here at RaceDayCT? Would you like to see continued coverage of New England short track racing? Your support can help ensure that professional coverage of short track racing can continue at RaceDayCT, and you can get some great rewards for that support. Patreon allows readers to make small monthly contributions to RaceDayCT that support the ongoing coverage of short track racing. Your pledge comes with exclusive tiered reward programs for offering that support. For just a $5 a month pledge fans can have access to the weekly Unmuffled podcast. For more information click the link here.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing