Timmy Jordan Leads List Of Winners At Speedbowl On Bob Potter Memorial Night

(Press Release from New London-Waterford Speedbowl)

While Tim Jordan was battling Keith Rocco for the lead in Saturday’s Inaugural Bob Potter Memorial, he had a flashback to 2004.

“Keith and I both started in the same year, Keith in the Sportsman and me in the Mini Stocks,” Jordan said. “We came up together. And then we went in different directions.”

They met a few times in the 102-lap feature, however. in an intense battle that featured several lead changes and momentum shifts — and plenty of sparks between the two drivers,

Jordan, however, was able to make the pass for the lead with less than 10 laps remaining on the way to the biggest wins of his SK Modified career.

The Potter Memorial was the centerpiece of a memorable night of competition at the Speedbowl.

In other action, Wayne Burroughs captured his second SK Lite Modified win of the season, Ryan Lineham won his first Late Model race at Waterford, Shawn Monahan captured his fourth Sportsman race, Charles Canfield held off Bill Sylvia for a win in the Mini Stocks, Randy Burr was a winner in the Speedbowl truck series and Barry Shaw pulled off a landslide win the the Sports Truck feature.

The Potter Memorial, honoring Bob Potter, winner of six Modified titles and Waterford and 94 victories, was dominated early by Kyle James. Jordan grabbed the lead at the midway point of the race and was cruising until Rocco. starting 16th in the 28-car field, roared through the pack to challenge.

The two traded the lead until Jordan blasted his way to front for keeps. It was his second win of the season, worth $5,100, the biggest payday of Jordan’s career.

“You really don’t beat Keith Rocco,” Jordan said. “You just come to the track with a good car and hope its good enough.”

It was during the final laps as Rocco’s comeback bid fell short.

“I started pretty far back in the field and by the time I got to the front, my car was used up,” said Rocco, after settling for second. Rob Janovic Jr. came alive in the second half of the race to finish third.

Ryan Lineham went from the scrap heap to the palace Saturday when he dominated every lap of the Street Stock feature. Lineman nearly destroyed his car the previous week when he punished the Turn 4 wall, but his crew not only fixed the car, it made it faster.

“The car was wrecked so bad, I wasn’t planning on coming tonight,” Lineham said. “But the crew did an unbelievable job to get the car ready. I owe this all to the crew.”

Point-leader Jason Palmer pulled of a late rally to finish second.

Rookie driver Jason Chapman led for the first 20 laps of the 25-lap SK Lite race, but Burroughs was able to track him down.

“I was conservative in the beginning,” Burroughs said. “I think the 44 (Chapman) went out too hard and I was able to track him down.”

Monahan went by Jason Chicolas for the lead and then pulled away from Al Stone III down the stretch to wrap up his fourth win in the 25-lap Sportsman feature.

“The first few laps wasn’t what I was hoping for,” Monahan said in victory lane. “There was probably a little too much contact as I got up to the front. But that’s Sportsman racing. That’s what the fans want to see.”

Charles Canfield, the two-time defending champion in the Mini Stocks, held off a furious rally by Bill Sylvia down the stretch to pull off his first win of the season. Canfield took the lead early from Evan Burgois, and held on for the win.

“The last two weeks haven’t been in my favor,” Canfield said. “But we had a great car, and now this will relieve a lot of stress.”

Sylvia, who didn’t finish a race in the entire 2018 season, almost pulled off an amazing win.

“I did this in memory of Bob Potter,” Sylvia said. “I finally had a good race.”

Randy Burr had a good race in the 25-lap Speedbowl Truck Series, taking the lead from Ken Cassidy with 10 laps to go.

The most one-sided win of the night took place in the Sports Truck race, with Barry Shaw carving open a huge lead over runner-up Rick Martin.

Racing resumes Saturday with the Granite State Pro Stock series as the guest division.

Bob Potter Memorial 102 laps: 1, Timmy Jordan, Plainfield; 2. Keith Rocco, Berlin; 3. Rob Janovic, Waterford; 4. Cory DiMatteo, Farmington; 5. Andrew Molleur, Shelton; 6. Todd Owen, Somers; 7. Matt Hirschman, Northampton, Pa.; 8. Chase Dowling, Roxbury; 9. Joe Gada, Salenm; 10. Andy Jankowiak, Buffalo.

30-lap Late Models: 1. Ryan Lineham, Hope Valley, RI; 2. 2. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 3. Glenn Boss, Danielson; 4. Jordan Hadley, Waterford; 5. Ryan Morgan, North Franklin; 6. Tyler Tomassi, West Greenwich RI; 7. Michael Benevides, Westerly RI; 8. Charles Bailey III; Lisbon; 9. Jason Larivee Jr., West Greenwich RI; 10. Keith Scalia, North Branford.

25-lap SK Lites: 1. Wayne Burroughs, Oakdale; 2. Jason Chapman, Ellington; 3. Tyler Barry, Griswold; 4. Robert Bloxom III, Stratford; 5. Nichole Thibeault, Southington; 6. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 7. Anthony Marvin, Waterford; 8. Sami Anderson, Wolcott; 9. Victora Bergenty, Plainville; 10. Travis Hydar, Woodbury.

25-lap Mini Stocks: 1. Charles Canfield, East Haven; 2. Bill Sylvia, Preston; 3. Doug Curry, Groton; 4. Sean Caron, East Hampton; 5. Jared Roy, Sterling; 6. Eric Bourgerois, East Haddam; 7. Tommy Silva, Gales Ferry; 8. Kevin Moore, Moosup; 9. Evan Bourgerois, East Haddam; 10. Bo Norman, Clinton.

25-lap Sportsman: 1. Shawn Monahan, Waterford; 2. Al Stone Durham; 3, Jason Chicolas, Sutton, Mass.; 4. Nate Taylor, Preston; 5. Travis Robinson, Unionville; 6. Tom Shea, New London; 7. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill; 8. Richard Meade, Thompson; 9. Zach Meade, Putnam; 10. Aaron Plemons, Uncasville, 

25-lap Speedbowl Trucks: 1. Randy Burr, Middleboro, Mass.; 2. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 3. Allen Coates, Ledyard; 4. Jeff Karns, Quaker Hill; 5. Emma Monahan, Quaker Hill; 6. Ari Jencik, Canton; 7. Lou Cicarelli, Brooklyn; 8. Nathan Smith, Greene RI; 9. Mike Olsen, Deep River; 10. Cameron Varricchio, Berlin.

25-lap Sports Trucks: 1. Barry Shaw, Holbrook, Mass.; 2. Rick Martin, Westport, Mass.; 3. Brittany Campbell, Somerset, Mass.; 4. Michael Duarte, Dighton, Mass.; 5. Richard Albernaz, New Bedford, Mass.; 6. Jake Venata, Somerset, Mass.; 7. Darryl Church, Brockton, Mass.; 8. Lenny Guy, New Bedford, Mass.; 9. Darryl Dutch, Greenville RI; 10. Richard Murray, Tiverton RI.


  1. 🌈🦄2020 says

    Never thought that Lineham would be back this year, never mind this week after that horrific wreck last week. What an awesome win. Great to see Alan Coats back in a late model and truck. Good to see Nichole back in the lite. Thought that maybe she was done for the year after her off track incident the other week. Cool to see 3 women in the sk lites.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing