Pointing Right: Brian Sullivan Wins SK Light Mod Title At Stafford; Jon Puleo Scores Win

Brian Sullivan celebrates the 2020 SK Light Modified championship Friday at Stafford Speedway (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

STAFFORD – On the night of his worst finish of the season, Brian Sullivan got to celebrate his biggest achievement in an SK Light Modified at Stafford Speedway. 

Sullivan used a 10th place finish in Friday’s 20-lap SK Light Modified feature to secure his first division championship. 

Sullivan, of South Windor, used a season of ultra-consistent finishes to score his first title at the track, though Friday he took a conservative approach after nearly wrecking on the first lap. 

“I said I wasn’t going to point race two weeks ago, but that’s what I did tonight,” Sullivan said. “Lap one I went down there and it wheel hopped and it almost came around in [turns] one and two. After that I just said ‘I’m just going to ride in back and keep the wheels on.’ That’s the name of the game and that’s how we won this championship, because we were in the top-five every week. We didn’t replace a part on this car. We put three front bumpers on this year, that’s it.” 

Sullivan, who drove for car owner Rich Vasseur, had 10 top-fives in 12 starts this year. Despite only starting 12 of 14 events in 2020, Sullivan ended the season with a 25-point advantage over Derek Debbis, who ended up second in the standings. 

Sullivan came into the night with a 40-point lead in the standings over second place Alexander Pearl, with the rookie Debbis in third, 41 points off the lead. Debbis used a second place finish Friday to Jon Puleo of Branford to jump to second in the standings 

Rookie George Bessette Jr. of Danbury used a fourth place finish in the final points event of the season to move to third in the standings, 34 points behind Sullivan. Pearl, who finished ninth Friday, ended up falling to fourth in the standings. 

Jon Puleo celebrates victory in the SK Light Modified feature Friday at Stafford (Photo: Jim DuPont/RaceDayCT)

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing