Speedbowl Finale Friday: Late Pass Lifts Shawn Monahan To Victory In Open Street Stocks

(Press Release from New London-Waterford Speedbowl)

Shawn Monahan sounded as if he was in a “Wayne’s World” movie after winning the 40-lap Open Street Stock feature Friday at the New London Waterford Speedbowl.

He claimed he was “not worthy” after taking the lead from Chad Baxter with eight laps to go on his way to victory.

“Obviously the 55 was not worthy tonight, they were many faster cars,” Moahan said. “It was an amazing finish. Outside of the two years I was in management, I had won at least one race a year here since 1998. It’s nice to keep that streak going.”

Two of the faster cars may have belonged to Joe Kohler and Bo Norman. Both were fighting for the lead when they suffered flat tires in the middle of the race. Kohler rambled back through the field to finish second and Norman rallied to finish third. Both ran out of laps, however, before they could get to Monahan.

“Restarts were tough, because the car was skipping,” Monahan said. “But I made the right adjustments.”

Monahan’s win was one of the highlights in opening night at The Finale, which continues Saturday and Sunday. Other winners were Christian Herman, Ed Ryan Jr., Josh Stringer amd Darren Krantz Jr.

Christian Herman felt the turning point in his 25-lap X-Car victory came early when he avoided a major crash on the first lap.

“I didn’t think I was going to get by anyone without wrecking,” Herman said.

Once he avoided trouble, he whizzed past Chuck McDonald on a restart on lap 10 to grab the victory.

Tim Burgess, who started in the rear of the field, rallied to finish second. McDonald finished third, but nailed down the Fall Shootout Series title.

Ed Ryan received some good news Friday when it was announced that he was the winner of the Super X-Car Fall Shootout after finishing second in the feature.

Then he received another dose of good news when apparent race winner Jeremy Washburn failed to pass post-race inspection, giving him his seventh win of the season. Devin Tate overcame a sluggish start to finish second.

Ken Cassidy Jr. achieved another milestone Friday. He made a late charge in the 25-lap Truck feature, giving him the championship by 15 points over Josh Stringer.

“I just had so much fun this year,” Cassidy said. “I have a great crew and a great team. I never would have won this title if it wasn’t for them.

Cassidy has won the Truck crown in each of his first two seasons in the division. He also has won five Mini Stock championships.

Stringer, meanwhile, not only won the race, he also won the Triple Threat series by one point.

“That was my goal tonight,” Stringer said. “I knew I didn’t have enough points for the overall championship, but at least I was able to win something.”

Emma Monahan led early, but Stringer blistered around her early in the race and maintained that edge the rest of the way.

Darren Krantz Jr. was running in sixth place with 12 laps remaining in the Bandolero feature when a violent crash took out the drivers who were running up front — Brad Strickland, Milania Shilosky and Ryan Vanesse Jr.

That moved Krantz up to second. One lap leter, he blurred past Brent Robidoux for the lead and held on to win the special 20-lap Bandolero feature.

“This was one of my spare cars, but it was fast,” Krantz said.

Shilosky, meanwhile, was a winner in the Fall Shoout.

Racing continues Saturday, Oct. 16, with qualifying races starting at 1:30 p.m.  Features will be held for the NEMA Midgets, NEMA Lites, Pro-4 Modifieds, Legends, Seekonk Sports Trucks, the American three-quarter Midgets and the Open Street Stocks.

40-lap Open Street Stocks: 1. Shawn Monahan, Waterford; 2. Joe Kohler, Cranston, RI; 3. Bo Norman, Clinton; 4. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin,; 5. Chad Baxter, Pascoag, RI; 6. Troy Waterman, Danielson; 7. Adam Petty, Assoneti, Mass.; 8. Joe Arena, Bristol; 9. Shawn Gaedeke, Groton; 10. Aaron Plemons, Uncasville; 11. Crystal Serydynski, Johnston, RI; 12. Chris Gomes, Rehoboth, Mass.; 13. Chris Rioux, Rehoboth, Mass.; 14. Danny Massa, North Dighton,; 15. Zach Sangermano, Plainfield,; 16. Eric Lutz, Miller Place, NY; 17. Jeremy Washburn, Willimantic; 18. Dave Yardley, Kensington; 19. Michael DiFranco, West Warwick, RI; 20. Jim Silvia, Middletown, RI; 21. Andrew Gillis, Ashland, Mass. 22; Jon Porter, East Lyme; 23. Scott Serydynski Jr; 24. Jaysin Beal, Ledyard; 25. Paul Williams, Stoughton, Mass.; 26. Ed Gertsch Jr, East Haven,; 27. Charles Beal, Ledyard,; 28. Christopher Douton, Niantic

25-lap Speedbowl Trucks: 1. Joshua Stringer, Dayville; 2. Randy Burr, Middleboro, Mass.; 3. Emma Monahan; Waterford; 4. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 5. David Gada, Bozrah; 6. Dennis Gada, Salem; 7. Todd Taylor, Stonington; 8. Bill Porter, Canterbury; 9. Ari Jencik, Canton; 10. Andrew Pellegrini, North Grosvenordale; 11. Randy Churchill Jr; 12. Mercedes Caron, East Hampton; 13. Rick Ashlaw, Manchester; 14. Ed Ryan Jr, Preston; 15. Cameron Varricchio, Berlin; 16. Anthony Naglieri, Island Park NY.

25-lap X-Car Feature: 1. Christian Herman, North Branford,; 2. Tim Burgess, Norwich,; 3. Chuck McDonald, Groton,; 4. Dylan Cabral, Richmond, RI;; 5. Raymond Herman Sr., Groton; 6. Wade Robbins, Pawcatuck; 7. Eric Macy, Manchester,; 8. Josh Piper, Clinton; 9. Samuel Lee, Wyomimg; 10. Daniel Thibeault, Westport; 11. Tommy Dyment III, Mass.; 12. Corey Caddick, Richmond, RI; 13. TJ Racicot, Quaker Hill,; 14. Jaden Hamilton, Brockton, M; 15. William Lauber, West Haven; 16. Kaylee Symonds, Andover; 17. Rick Mollo, Seymour; 18. Grant Spaulding. Westerly, RI

25-lap Super X-Car feature. 1. Ed Ryan Jr., Preston; 2. Devin Tate    Preston,; 3. Dave Yardley, Kensington; 4. Andy Skinner, Bozrah; 5. Patrick Donnellan, Quaker Hill; 6. Jim Reilly, Ct.; 7. Ben Castro, Oakdale; 8. Toby Leonard, Oakdale; 9. Caitlyn Desomma, Richmond, RI; 10. Sam Lincoln, Yarmouth Port, Mass.; 11. Michael Rotundo, Rehobeth, Mass.; 12. Austin Flanagan, Warwick, RI; 13. Greg Perry Jr., Tauton, Mass.; 14. Donald Berge, Uncasville; 15. Jeremy Washburn, Willimantic.

20-lap Bandolero: 1. Darren Krantz Jr., Huntington, NY; 2. Brent Robidoux, Taunton, Mass.; 3. Stephen Bowden, East Tauton, Mass.; 4. Richard Helger Jr., Tiverton, RI; 5. Adam Harrison, North Smithfield, RI; 6. Allyha Desomma, Richmond, RI; 7. Nicholas Uhrig Jr., Warwick, RI; 8. Owen Boomsma, Lee, Mass.; 9. Trenton Starkweather, Chaplin; 10. Mason Silva, Gales Ferry; 11. Brad Strickland, Uncasville; 12. Ryan Vanesse Jr, Warwick, RI; 13. Milania Shilosky, Colchester; 14. Ethan Dion, Oakdale.


  1. Longtimefan says

    it was a great race, Lutz had that race won until his tire went flat.

  2. 🌈🦄2020 says

    Awesome to see 27 street stocks Friday and Saturday night. Saturday’s race was a crap show but nice to see Joe Arena back in victory lane. And yeah Lutz has been fast the last two days. Just some bad luck. Looking forward to Sunday afternoon.

  3. Viva Race Fan says

    Mayor Monahan wins again …

  4. I need someone who was at the Bowl today (sunday) to give me the scoop. According to race monitor they only got in 42 of 100 lap SK race. Did it rain? Is there a makup? Was there any other races postponed? Thanks in advance. Looks like they had some great fields of cars in most division.

  5. Got it thanks Shawn. Happy everyone is expected to be OK. Scary incident.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing