Dylan Coutu Gets First NEMA Lites Win At Lee; Randy Cabral Tops NEMA Decourcy Memorial

(Press Release from Northeastern Midget Association)

In only his second season in the NEMA Lites, Dylan Coutu took down an emotional victory in his family owned #53 besting last year’s champion Jake Trainor in the Seymour 29.  In the Jeremy Decourcy Smoke ‘Em 25, Randy Cabral came from the middle of the field and dominated the 25 lap main event on Friday night.

In the Lites event, Eric Bacon in the O’Brien #16 jumped out into the early lead from the pole.  Bacon, in one of his best showings yet, remained in command for the first 8 laps of the event.  Behind him, youngsters Dylan Coutu and Michael Pernesiglio were coming to the front quickly.  Coutu grabbed the lead on lap seven. 

Pernesiglio would jump into the second spot on lap nine, and behind him a battle would ensure between Bacon and last year’s champion, Jake Trainor.  Trainor would pass Bacon on lap eighteen for third, and then set his sights on Pernesiglio.

As the laps wound down, Trainor would pass Pernesiglio for second on lap twenty three, and Coutu was still in command.  Trainor would make a valliant run at Coutu, but Coutu would hang on for his first ever career victory. Trainor was second followed by Pernesiglio, Bacon, Paul Scally, Avery Stoehr, Pj Stergios, Todd Bertrand, Joey Bailey, and Dan Cugini.

In the NEMA feature, Alan Chambers in the Scotts Roofing #7 would jump out into the early lead.  Behind Chambers, multi time champion Randy Cabral was slicing his way through the pack, and would be on Chambers bumper on lap four.  He moved by John Zych for second on the fifth lap, and would take over the lead from Chambers on lap six.

Once in command, Cabral would set sail, but in the closing circuits, Chambers would begin to narrow Cabral’s lead.  Cabral would take down the win by a margin of 1.5 seconds, Chambers was second, Avery Stoehr in the Bertrand 47 passed Zych on the final corner to finish third, Zych was fourth, Jim Chambers was fifth, Matt O’Brien, Mike Horn, Justin Fafard, Richie Coy, and Matt Merry rounded out the top ten.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2018 E-Media Sports

Website Designed by Thirty Marketing